Solved: Word 2000 Problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

RED CLOUD

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2004
Messages
165
Dear Friends,

I am trying to help out a friend with a Word 2000 problem and wonder please if some kind person could offer advice. After she opens the program and starts to use it everything works fine for about twenty minutes and then the following message appears.

Abnormal Programme Termination
Microsoft Visual C++
Run Time Library
Run Time Error
C:/Program File/Microsoft/Office 10/ Winword. Exe

This message then "blocks" the screen and if my friend cancels the message by clicking the "X" button in the top right hand corner the computer reverts to the desktop and she loses all she has typed in word.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thank you,

Red Cloud
 

RED CLOUD

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2004
Messages
165
Dave,

Thank you very much for your reply. Please excuse my total ignorance, but could you please advise how and where I can adjust the Autosave.

Thank you,

Red Cloud
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
Open Word. Look under TOOLS/OPTIONS/ and the SAVE tab. It is b=near the bottom.

By the way, where in Leicestershire??
 

RED CLOUD

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2004
Messages
165
Dear Dave,

Thanks for the information I will visit my friend and adjust the Autosave.
I am completely non technical, but have spent some time searching the Net regarding this problem and it seems that articles 320475 and 319154 in the Microsoft Knowledge Base my be relevant, although they refer to Word 2002 and not 2000. I am out of my depth with this, but another friend is a Systems Analyst and I am going to try and seek his help.

Live in Medbourne near Market Harborough !!

Thanks for your help,

Keith
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
The first of those articles is likely to be closer. You can check the Normal.dot by openning it, although if it was that at fault I would expect it to fail immediately. It is far more likely to be giving the error when it is trying to save. That is why I asked you to change the time, so that it would fail after a different time. You could also check the FILE Locations and make a note of them as well as making sure they are valid and exist.
 

RED CLOUD

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2004
Messages
165
Dear Dave,

The news is good !! I followed your instructions and rather than adjust the timing on the AutoSave (actually called AutoRecovery on my friends version) I disabled it and the problem has been cured.

Thank you so much for your help, I am in awe of this site in that so many kind people offer their time and expertise for free, to help people such as myself with limited technical knowledge.

Kind Regards,

Red Cloud
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top