[SOLVED] Word docs can't be retrieved

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ahdeuxelles

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Messages
4
Get ms. "The system is dangerously low on resources" when I try to access Word doc. files on hd/disc and "ERROR OE:0197:BFF 8E 64B" whenever I try to access the files on the floppy backup.
Have switched off/on, defragmented disc, used Norton System repairs, reloaded original Wdws Me progm disc all to no avail - ethe hang-up persists - is this a fault or a bug?
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Usually that error message means you have too many things loading and running in the background consuming "system resources". You can monitor system resources by right clicking My Computer>Properties>performance. Or by running the Resource Meter (I think it's a good idea to place a shortcut to it in your startup folder so it's always in the taskbar>systray area.

http://www.aumha.org/a/resource.htm

http://www.pcforrest.freeserve.co.uk/resources.htm

http://www.pacs-portal.co.uk/startup_content.htm

There also may be some specific issue woth Word or other office programs, sometimes these are virus related (nimda is one). If this problem is isolated to just Word, I'll move you over to the Business Applications forum where you might get some more specialized help.
 

ahdeuxelles

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Messages
4
To Rollin' Rog,
Thank you for reply to my earlier question on 'Word' non-retrieval.
Sorry the problem continues :
I have cleared all tempy internet files and cookies and repaired everything I can think of with Norton System. System resources are shown as 11.2 GB (out of 14 GB) disc space available and 120 MB RAM (77% free). I have an Intel Celeron processor with 800 Mhz avail. so in all there should be no lack of memory or power. I can now retrieve Word docs. but can't increase them as it tells me "There is not enough memory or disk space to run Word". That's nonsense obviously. Now it seems the problem is extended so that I cannot print altho' the printer is shown as installed.
I'm not too up-to-date on the technical jargon such as 'threads', 'smilies' etc. but hope I'm clicking the right buttons to reach you. Perhaps you can tell me how I get on to Business Applications as it seems this problem is isolated to Word, or, if not, certainly restricted to Windows. Using Picture-it-Publishing I always get the Kenell 32 problem so I've given up on M/s Works.
Thanks again, in advance, I hope ...... ahdeuxelles
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hi ahdeuxelles, welcome to TSG. I've merged your new thread into this one....if you'll just hit the 'reply' button instead of opening a new thread, Rog will be notified when you post a response. :)
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2001
Messages
702
What version of Word are you using? There is a know problem with Word 97 that was fixed with Service Release 2. If you arent sure of the version, open Word and click Help>About.
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
Whenever having any problem with the Word program and you've determined it's not specific documents, try this:

Close Word.
Find the file(s) on your hard drive named normal.dot and rename it (them) to abnormal.dot

REstart word.
 

ahdeuxelles

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Messages
4
Thanks to Rollin Rog and AcaCandy + all who helped. I clicked on everything and followed all advice - out of all this I don't quite know what did the trick but everything is back to normal. When I started computing 25 years ago I told the computer what to do - now it thinks it knows better!!! I'm not used to this. It does things I never asked it to do - like adding three Winfax printers I don't have. It may have been the overload of temporary internet files and cookies that caused my problem. Now I'm down to mundane matters like trying to get rid of a folder that keeps re-appearing called VBE but I guess I will sort that out by myself. Thanks again - I'm learning, slowly. Ahdeuxelles
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top