Solved: workgroups mainserver does not "see" a computer in the group,windows xp profe

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

andynic

Thread Starter
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
427
Hi,

I think this is related to an earlier (solved) post that I put up a while ago with title " logical name for the ip address of a node in a Windows XP Worgroup".

Everything is working correctly but I cannot see the shared network printer from the new computer. All other computers can print from the printer except for this new computer. When I try to add a new printer from control panel --> Printers and Faxes, when I browse for the computer, none show up in the list.

I suspect that a related problem is that the main sever does not "see" the new computer.

From the new computer I can ping the main server and open files that are stored on that server.
But when I try to ping the the new computer, the ping command times out with no reply.

Where do I need to look to resolve this?

Any help you can give would be greatly appreciated. You are dealing with a newbie at this stuff.

Thanks,
Andynic
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
3,791
Hi,

I think this is related to an earlier (solved) post that I put up a while ago with title " logical name for the ip address of a node in a Windows XP Worgroup".

Everything is working correctly but I cannot see the shared network printer from the new computer. All other computers can print from the printer except for this new computer. When I try to add a new printer from control panel --> Printers and Faxes, when I browse for the computer, none show up in the list.

I suspect that a related problem is that the main sever does not "see" the new computer.

From the new computer I can ping the main server and open files that are stored on that server.
But when I try to ping the the new computer, the ping command times out with no reply.

Where do I need to look to resolve this?

Any help you can give would be greatly appreciated. You are dealing with a newbie at this stuff.

Thanks,
Andynic


Is the Firewall in the "new" computer set to allow File and Printer Sharing? Can the new computer ping itself and other computers in the Workgroup?

 

andynic

Thread Starter
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
427
Hi Saga Lout,
Thanks for the reply.
1.
The new computer cannot ping itself:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ipconfig
Windows IP Configuration
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.3.66
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.3.1
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 192.168.3.66
Pinging 192.168.3.66 with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Ping statistics for 192.168.3.66:
Packets: Sent = 1, Received = 0, Lost = 1 (100% loss),

2.
But it does successfully ping the main server:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 192.168.3.14
Pinging 192.168.3.14 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.3.14: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.3.14: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.3.14: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

3.
If I repeat (1) on the main server, it also cannot ping itself, but it can ping computers in the workgroup except for the "new" one.

4.
All the non-main-server computers behave as in (1) above.

Thanks for your help,
Andynic
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
3,791
I wonder why the new machine has been assigned 3.66 - how many others are there in the Network? Can you give it a manual setting for experimental purposes only? One other possibility which could partly isolate one machine and make it appear to behave badly is cabling. Could there be a crossover mixed in with straights or vice versa?

 

andynic

Thread Starter
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
427
Hi Saga Lout,

I chose the IP address off the top of my head (as I say, I am a newbie and not always sure of what I am doing).
I will check all the other computers, and use another address closer in the range to the existing ones (I did not originally set this system up and there is no documentation.) However I won't be able to get to this until I am back from holiday end of May. (I'm also retired and this is volunteer work for a volunteer organization.)

In the meantime from what you said in your first post, I solved the printer problem by truning off the symantec firewall temporarily. I was able to then see the printer and add it. I then turned the firewall back on. So that was successful.

I will thereofre mark this problem solved, and if the new IP address does not work next time I am at the office, I will put a new post up at that time.

Thanks for your help,
Andynic
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
3,791
I will thereofre mark this problem solved, and if the new IP address does not work next time I am at the office, I will put a new post up at that time.

Thanks for your help,
Andynic

You're more than welcome. Perhaps allowing automatic DHCP to assign random addresses rather than statics will help if it does come down to that.

 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top