1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: WOW Internet connection keeps droping out

Discussion in 'Networking' started by muckmail, Jan 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. muckmail

    muckmail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    818
    My WOW internet connection keep dropping out. I recently went form AT&T dsl to Wow but
    as I surf my internect connection drops out. Could I have some software conflicts
    in my computer since I converted from At&t connection to WOW. I used a At&T Gateway
    2 wire router before installing WOW. I don't have a router connect to WOW at this time. I am
    directly connected to their modem.

    If so how can I trouble shoot this problem.
    Thank you,
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,553
    What is the brand and model of the modem?

    Does it have any status LEDs? If so, what are they telling you?
     
  3. muckmail

    muckmail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    818
    Arris TM602G/115
    LED lights are labeled Power, DS, US, Online, Link, Telephone 1, Telephone 2 and Battery.
    All are on. The Link light flashes on and off.

    I took advast antivirous off the computer to see if that is the problem but I don't have any antivirous software on my computer at this time. I just found that Advast off did not help anything.

    Any suggestions?
    Thank you,
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,553
    Please show the following for when you have internet access and for when you have lost it ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  5. muckmail

    muckmail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    818
    I am using XP. I place IPCONFIG /ALL in the run box but the black box with in opens & closes
    too fast for me to capture it. Any other suggestions?
    Thank you,
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,553
    Yes, see post # 4. There is a good reason why we advise running ipconfig in a Command prompt window instead of in a Run box. :)
     
  7. muckmail

    muckmail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    818
    See attached file for Ip Config
    Thank you,
     

    Attached Files:

  8. muckmail

    muckmail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    818
    I did put my phone with WOW and it seems to have dial tone.
    Any suggestions.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,553
    Please follow the instructions in post # 4. It is quite annoying to have to download a file, extract a .bmp and find that instead of the requested two copies of ipconfig /all there is only one, and it is only of ipconfig. The output is text and there is no reason to force people who are interested in learning or helping to download a file instead of just posting it here as requested.
     
  10. muckmail

    muckmail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    818
    Hopefully here it is:
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\User 1>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : muck-oy67qph6h5
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : WOWWAY.COM

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : WOWWAY.COM
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
    roller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-72-35-A4-ED
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 96.27.138.86
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 96.27.136.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.50.1.125
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 64.233.219.99
    64.233.206.99
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 29, 2011 11:37:47
    AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, February 05, 2011 11:37:47
    AM

    C:\Documents and Settings\User 1>
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,553
    And it's still the same when you have lost internet access?
     
  12. Abriam26

    Abriam26

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    264
    Is ur modem hot? try to unplug power cable. some minutes later plug in. Also do it with ur Cable from ur modem to your pc. The ethernet/UTP/crossover-cable in the back of ur pc
    or laptop. You could also just call your provider by telephone
     
  13. muckmail

    muckmail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    818
    I went and reinstall windows XP on it. The machine is a Dell Dim E521. I put network drivers from Dell website
    for E521. I think It dropped out once after I reinstalled. Under control panel in Network Connections it says "Local Area
    Connection 4". It does not show any other connections under that window. I pull an Ethernet Card in and out of the
    computer to see if that would work. I ended up not using that card so I am using the Ethernet connector on the motherboard.
    Any suggestions?
    Thank you,
     
  14. muckmail

    muckmail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    818
    Still not working. Here is the information with it not working.
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\User 1>IPCONFIG /AM

    Error: unrecongnized or incomplete command line.

    USAGE:
    ipconfig [/? | /all | /renew [adapter] | /release [adapter] |
    /flushdns | /displaydns | /registerdns |
    /showclassid adapter |
    /setclassid adapter [classid] ]

    where
    adapter Connection name
    (wildcard characters * and ? allowed, see examples)

    Options:
    /? Display this help message
    /all Display full configuration information.
    /release Release the IP address for the specified adapter.
    /renew Renew the IP address for the specified adapter.
    /flushdns Purges the DNS Resolver cache.
    /registerdns Refreshes all DHCP leases and re-registers DNS names
    /displaydns Display the contents of the DNS Resolver Cache.
    /showclassid Displays all the dhcp class IDs allowed for adapter.
    /setclassid Modifies the dhcp class id.

    The default is to display only the IP address, subnet mask and
    default gateway for each adapter bound to TCP/IP.

    For Release and Renew, if no adapter name is specified, then the IP address
    leases for all adapters bound to TCP/IP will be released or renewed.

    For Setclassid, if no ClassId is specified, then the ClassId is removed.

    Examples:
    > ipconfig ... Show information.
    > ipconfig /all ... Show detailed information
    > ipconfig /renew ... renew all adapters
    > ipconfig /renew EL* ... renew any connection that has its
    name starting with EL
    > ipconfig /release *Con* ... release all matching connections,
    eg. "Local Area Connection 1" or
    "Local Area Connection 2"

    C:\Documents and Settings\User 1>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : muck-54oxap5zv3
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : WOWWAY.COM

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 4:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : WOWWAY.COM
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
    roller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-72-35-A4-ED
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 96.27.138.86
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 96.27.136.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.50.1.125
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 64.233.219.99
    64.233.206.99
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 30, 2011 5:20:45 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, February 06, 2011 5:20:45 AM


    C:\Documents and Settings\User 1>
     
  15. muckmail

    muckmail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    818
    Could the problem be the Driver for the Dell 521E? The Dell Service number is 31R23C1. Under the webpage there
    are 2 downloads under networking. I don't know if I used the correct driver.
    Thank you,
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/977687