Solved: WRT54g home networking

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ballpark570

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
448
I have a WRT54g router. I have two computers hardwired to it in a home setting. The router is connected to an internet modem

Each PC is running windows XP

Each PC uses Zonealarm

How do I get them to see and share with one another securely without exposing the data from these PC's to the internet?

I read the Linksys users guide but did not understand it well enough to do what I want to do.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
37,849
it's already secured enough, unless you have allowed all traffic into your network.

But if you want to make absolutley sure, in ZA allow your home network access, and ZA should ask you for permission to allow anyone into your machine, which you will deny, or it will block it flat.
 

ballpark570

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
448
OK, so it is secure..........

Now, If I want to get a file from the computer in the other room, how do I do that?
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
37,849
My Network Places. Make sure that File Sharing is on.

If the computer is not showing up, then ZA is blocking the sharing computer. You will need to configure ZA to allow your network traffic.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
1,729
allow the 192.168.x.x IPs into the trusted zone. They are not internet IP addresses therefore cannot leak info to the net. Only locally over LAN.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Of course, you should also secure that wireless configuration if you want to really have security. :)
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
37,849
You may want to narrow it down to the third octet... ie 192.168.1.x (or whatever your network id is)
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
1,729
I put two X's because I didn't know what range they use. I use .1.x but I know lots of routers use the .0.x range.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
37,849
:) I put .1.x because I just set up a new router which its default was .1.x
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
37,849
:) no it was an addendum to your idea. While your idea would allow the networks 192.168.0.0 to 192.168.255.0, post 7 would narrow it to allow just the one.
 

ballpark570

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
448
Well I just could not figure out how to configure it . I spent about 4 hours before I just gave up and went and bought a copy of Network Magic for 30 bucks.

It was worth every penny. The hardest part was seeing the license key with these tired old eyes. I had my network up and running in about 10 minutes.

Thank you all for your input and suggestions.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
1,729
I had a demo of that and it was a pile of rubbish. Wouldn't go on my router, insisted on being in the startup menu, hard to uninstall...

Glad to know you got it sorted either way.
 

ballpark570

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
448
I was a little skeptical but it came down to costs.

It was going to cost me about 70 dollars to get a print server to access the USB printer which is downstairs attached to the desktop. There was a 30 day money back guarantee in large letters on the Network Magic box so I thought it couldn't hurt to give it a try.

It seems to work flawlessly and it set up in just a few minutes. I think the GUI is good in that it is very simple.

It had no problem working with the linksys WRT54g router or Zonealarm nor all the other security apps.

The box says it is Vista ready.

I pretty much just wanted to be able to print to the printer downstairs from my laptop which is upstairs most of the time and it does that well so I am satisfied ........
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top