1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: WZCSLDR2.exe - Entry Point Not Found (after updated to SP3)

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by ayumipower, May 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ayumipower

    ayumipower Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    I recently updated to SP3 then I started getting a pop up saying, "The procedure entry point apsInitialize could not be located in the dynamic link library wlanapi.dll" everytime i turn on the computer. How do I fix it?
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    It belongs to the wireless drivers for your wireless configuration, and indicates a version conflict issue of some kind.. Reinstalling them should probably fix it. But see if there is an updated version available.
     
  3. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    Welcome to TSG....

    Try this and see if it works.

    When installing SP3 it adds a new service for Ethernet and Internet connections.

    First go to Start>Run and type "services.msc" And Click OK.

    Second, You will want to scroll to the bottom and You'll notice "Wired AutoConfig", This is a new feature with SP3 and needs to be enabled so we will want to Right+Click and Go to Properties.

    There will be a Drop-down box that Probably says Manual. This needs to be changed to Automatic. Then Click OK.

    After the previous steps have been followed Right+Click on "Wired AutoConfig" Again and Choose, "Start" Since the service hasn't officially been started we need to start it.

    Reboot the computer just to make sure the change takes place.

    Hope this works.
     
  4. ayumipower

    ayumipower Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    that fixed it. thank you
     
  5. RayT

    RayT

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    I get same WZCSLDR2.exe boot-up error message after installing WinXP SP3, except it indicates that entry point apsGetMIB cannot be found. I tried the excellent suggestion by ozrom1e, but it did not fix my system. As a workaround, I used msconfig to disable WZCSLDR2.exe at bootup. Everything seems to work now, includiing my wired LAN and wireless connections. I would prefer a solution without a workaround. How do I fix this?
     
  6. RayT

    RayT

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Take a look at what Microsoft Support says at:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/950720

    In summary, they say to go to your network adapter's manufacturer and get the latest Win XP SP3-compatible driver for your network card. So it's NOT just DLINK; it's a lot of different ones. Arggg! Every Laptop I have has a different brand of network adapter, so I'm just going to UNinstall WinXP SP3.

    Good luck,
    RayT
     
  7. Darkwind

    Darkwind

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    I had problems when I downloaded & installed SP3 also; however, the re-load worked for me. Since I have a USB Wireless adapter (WU 1340) I unplugged it, then used the CD to reinstall the driver. When I re-inserted the adapter the system recognized it & everything worked fine.
    One thing I have discovered already though - whenever you use Windows to troubleshoot this setup, it disables the driver, then fails - leaving you stuck with an error message and of course another chance to use that nice shiny new D-Link installation CD. :D

    Good luck, and Grace to you.
     
  8. asburyjukes

    asburyjukes

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    My first post so bear with me.

    I recently pulled a laptop out of the closet that hadn't been used for awhile. When I brought it on line all worked well. I ran auto updates and it downloaded SP3. Now, right after Windows loads a dialogue box shows "The procedure entry point apsInitialize could not be located in the dynamic link library wlanapi.dll." Plus, I get poor performance out of my Wireless connection.

    I reloaded the driver for the wireless device from the manufacturer's website as suggested. I am still getting the dialogue box and poor performance. Any other suggestions?
     
  9. Darkwind

    Darkwind

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Remember to go to start > administration tools > services and turn on (start) the "wired auto-config" service. Reboot.

    Good luck, and grace to you. (y)
     
  10. asburyjukes

    asburyjukes

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Yes, I set it up to start automatically. I am at a loss. I have 2 other computers that connect to the wireless network without any problems and the laptop in question has no problem connecting through its ethernet card. I reloaded the drivers for the wireless device and still no joy.
     
  11. Darkwind

    Darkwind

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    What about "wireless zero config"? (start > admin tools > services > wireless zero config.) If it's off or set to manual, set it to Automatic.

    If this still doesn't work you may have to call Microsoft tech support.

    Good luck, and grace to you. (y)
     
  12. ermiec

    ermiec

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    I was receiving the following at startup after installing Windows XP SP3:

    wzcsldr2.exe - No entry point found

    The procedure entry point apsInitialize could not be located in the dynamic link library wlanapi.dll.


    I complied with OZROM1E's suggestion with no positive results. I then updated my D-Link DWL-G520 wireless card driver and the problem was corrected. I suspect that starting the Service "Wired AutoConfig" as per OZROM1E's suggestion was also necessary.
     
  13. asburyjukes

    asburyjukes

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    I quit. I tried everything that I could think of to fix the problem. Microsoft's tech support claimed that the re-loading of the wireless card's driver should have fixed the problem. I de-installed SP3 and problem vanished.
     
  14. Darkwind

    Darkwind

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Yeah, I can understand that; it was my next (if all else fails) suggestion.

    Grace to you. (y)
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/710589