1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: XBOX connection with apartment network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by CupcakeF, Jan 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CupcakeF

    CupcakeF Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    I have the same problem except, I just moved into a new apartment complex that provides "high speed" internet as part of the standard services, the internet is provided by an ethernet jack in each room so I have no idea what the modem/router are if at all.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Even though it appears you're having the same problem, please start a new thread when you have a new issue. It's very difficult to keep two problems straight and who's working on what in a single thread.

    I've created a new thread for your issue here.

    Note: You will need to post complete details of your configuration and your specific issue in this new thread for us to help you.

    Thanks for your cooperation.
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Actually, I don't think your issue is anything near what his is.

    In your case, there is undoubtedly a router somewhere in the deep recesses of the apartment complex which will probably preclude any port forwarding in your case.
     
  4. CupcakeF

    CupcakeF Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Not sure what other details i can give, its just an ethernet jack in the wall, but futher investigation reveals its a MikroTik (?) router and IP service is through Tex-Link communications.
     
  5. Jason08

    Jason08

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,724
    If any ports need to be open, then you will have to ask them to open them for you.
     
  6. CupcakeF

    CupcakeF Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    I've never had this problem with ports before, (Anyone just joining us, I can't connect to XBOX Live because of insufficient MTU, it was left out at the top).

    My friend said that it could be because of splitting and losing signal strength.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Your friend is incorrect. If you have a connection, you aren't losing "signal strength" with a wired connection.
     
  8. CupcakeF

    CupcakeF Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    SOLVED: I called the ISP and they said they had to register the XBOX 360 on the network, got it taken care of with a 30 minute phone call. Thanks for all the help though, stupid businesses closing on Sunday...
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Glad it all worked out. :)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/791931

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice