Solved: XP compatible computer?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Graiskye

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
104
Quik question my friend has a P3, 600 mhz, 128k box with a 80 gb drive, thats all he could tell me about it over the phone! Will a computer with those numbers run XP adequately??? What if the RAM was upped to 256k?? Thanks all Graiskye ps shes running 98 as is, whats the wise choice upgrade to XP or no??? Thanks,Thanks,Thanks, and Thanks again (y)
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2004
Messages
44
I'm running XP on a 600 PII or is it PIII. I have 256 megs of ram and 80 gig hard disk drive. I wouldn't complain about the performance. Sure, it isn't the fastest thing around. My main recommendation is not to crap it up with internet crap. Don't install everything you can possible download. You will end up with a sluggish machine.

In fact, I recommend dual or triple booting. You can keep a one OS clean with applications that are specific only to what you need. Then boot into a seperate install to use the internet. Not always practical or convenient but saves some headaches.

By the way, I'm running XP Pro, XP Home, 98SE, and Debian Linux on mine. Works great!
 

Graiskye

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
104
Hey thnx guys. Didnt even think to check the box(DUH, I have XP). But I was , am more intrested in real world application(arent we all?). Guy at the local tells me that you really should have 256 mem?? You know how opinions are! So just trying to get a feel for the performance they might expect. Thanks again, Graiskye :cool:
 
Joined
May 22, 2004
Messages
182
I would say 256 is the recommended minimum. I would not advise running it on anything less. It was a pain. For XP to run properly, I would reccomend 512.
 

RAM-PAGE

Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2004
Messages
2,355
I agree totally with Maverick, you really need 512Mb to get anywhere. Each RAM module only uses 5watts from your power supply and adding RAM really is the cheapest way to improve performance. XP can use 4 x 1024Mb with the right motherboard. (XP 64-Bit Edition can use 16 x 1024Mb)

But this is the best scan I've ever found from PC Pitstop as it will advise on software compatability as well. (Might not be fully comprehensive.)

http://www.pcpitstop.com Test your PC for hardware & software compatability with Windows XP , plus , ActiveX testing, etc.

XP-READY? http://www.pcpitstop.com/xpready/default.asp COMPATIBILITY TEST BEFORE ATTEMPTING INSTALL of XP.

CLEAN INSTALL XP http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/cleanxpinstall.html

DATA BACKUP IMAGING SYSTEMS http://terabyteinc.com TERABYTE UNLIMITED IMAGE for DOS plus TBIVIEW, very easy to use drive imaging program.
 

RAM-PAGE

Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2004
Messages
2,355
As to the wise choice. Stay with '98 unless you can afford a new computer and all new software.
 

Graiskye

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
104
Seems the smart thing is to stay with the 98 for now? I guess her son was right after all. All his applications, games and that are all ready set up for 98 so I thought he was just being reluctant. Shes always asking for help but I am just starting to find my way around XP, NO experience with 98 what so ever. Try to get her to check out the net but some people just don't feel comfortable surfing. Think the computer's gonna catch a virus, even though the things on constantly, hooked up to the net, messenger on, go figure?? Thanks for the response guys, I'll pass one the thread too my friend. Graiskye
 

RAM-PAGE

Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2004
Messages
2,355
Graiskye said:
Seems the smart thing is to stay with the '98 for now? I guess her son was right after all. All his applications, games and that are already set up for '98 so I thought he was just being reluctant.

She's always asking for help but I am just starting to find my way around XP, No experience with '98 whatsoever.

Try to get her to check out the 'net but some people just don't feel comfortable surfing. Think the computer's gonna catch a virus, even though the thing's on constantly, hooked up to the net, messenger on, go figure? Thanks for the response guys, I'll pass on the thread to my friend. Graiskye
It's a pleasure Graiskye, The best advice is often Free, especially when there is no question of profiting from someone. That is what family is for.

If she hasn't already done so, she should try a couple of programs like AdAware, SpyBot, SpywareBlaster, Delindex and CCLeaner to keep the computer clean. (All Freeware.)

Have a nice day. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top