1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: XP display too high

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by ams9908, Apr 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ams9908

    ams9908 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Hi,

    I'd really appreciate some help on this one - it doesn't seem to affect the function of the computer it's just annoying !:confused:

    Since I picked up the 'new' tower the display on my monitor is too high - and by that I don't mean the resolution - the taskbar has a black gap about 1/8" (3mm) below it and the rest of the display is therefore 1/8" further up ! This means the tops of any icons at the top of the screen are cut off and I can't see the floating Ashampoo Snap 5 toolbar which sits at the top of the screen.

    As I say, this doesn't affect function it's just damn irritating, I can still use the top icons and when I put my cursor up to the top of the screen the Snap 5 toolbar drops down.
    This is probably a simple fix if you know how but I don't - if anyone out there does please let me know ! :confused:

    Many thanks,
    ams
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,872
    you will probably be able to adjust that on the monitor settings , sounds like it just needs moving down
    - can you post the make and exact model of the monitor
     
  3. ams9908

    ams9908 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Hi,

    Thanks for getting back to me:)

    The monitor is a DGM L-2041W

    I know how to set the resolution etc but I haven't got a clue about how to lower the display :confused::confused::confused:

    Thanks,
    ams
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,872
  5. ams9908

    ams9908 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Hi,

    You mate, are a damned hero ! (y)(y)(y)

    It really didn't occur to me to do that as it was fine before I changed towers .

    Many, many thanks - that was irritating me beyond belief !
    ams
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,872
    your welcome (y) thanks for letting us know
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1049279