Solved: [XP Home] Screen Resolution and Color Problems.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Jim Miller

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 8, 2007
Messages
37
First off, I purchased my computer back in 2004 preloaded with Windows XP Home. Just last week, I got a serious virus on my computer. It disabled system restore, wiped all restore points, disabled windows help, and deleted some important files. I went out and bought a new copy of Windows XP Home SP2. It installed fine at first. But, once I logged on, I realized my color setting and screen resolution were very low. A message popped up on my system tray saying something about screen resolution and color were very low. It asked to
fix it. I clicked ok but nothing happened for about 2 minutes. Then, I went into display settings, and saw the settings were the lowest.

But, the slider for screen resolution was set at 640 x 480. I tried to move it, but it wouldn't move. Also, the drop down list for color quality only had one option, "Lowest (4 bit)". I restarted my computer, but it was the same. I cant change it. On the old copy of Windows, the screen resolution was 1024 x 768, and the color could go up high. I forget the setting though. Also, I did not change my monitor. Does anyone know whats wrong or how to fix it?

Heres some information about my computer:
OS: Windows XP Home Edition. Version 2002. Service Pack 2.
RAM: 504 MB
Processor: Pentium 4 1.80Ghz.
Monitor: 15 in. Flat Screen LCD. Made by Gateway.

My Desktop:


Wont Let Me Change:


simelwill said:
You must install the drivers for your graphics card - find the cd for it or go to their website and download the latest drivers - you are using a generic Windows driver that does no more than enable you to see things on your monitor.
I just tried that. When I looked at my graphics card info, this came up:


Thanks for your time,
Jim Miller
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2006
Messages
84
You must install the drivers for your graphics card - find the cd for it or go to their website and download the latest drivers - you are using a generic Windows driver that does no more than enable you to see things on your monitor.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2007
Messages
2,584
It's possible it doesn't recognize the card before you install the drivers - have you done this yet?
 

Jim Miller

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 8, 2007
Messages
37
i forget what the card is, so i cant install the drivers until i know the card. So basically its forming a cycle =[
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2007
Messages
2,584
Well, you should try to look for the documentation the PC or the card came with - if you have it. Have you tried going to Control Panel - Add new hardware and search for new hardware
 

Jim Miller

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 8, 2007
Messages
37
that only tells me what i already have drivers for. At least i think...

Wait, so right now im trying to find out graphics card? Then after that i download driver?

EDIT: I think it only does drivers. I clicked collect all, and it just gives me a list of drivers and dates updated and stuff like that.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2007
Messages
2,584
No, this should detect the hardware, not only the installed drivers. After you find out the make and model of your graphics card, downloading the drivers is easy;)
 

Jim Miller

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 8, 2007
Messages
37
did u install the program yourself?

EDIT: Could this be it:
Intel(R) 82801 PCI Bridge - 244E
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2007
Messages
2,584
Yup, when I did

Using My Drivers

Collect OS-independent hardware information with/without drivers installed:

Click 'Identify all system devices' option on software startup to get the detailed information of all hardware devices phsically consitute your computer system. This detection might take 2 to 10 seconds depending on the number of hardware devices in your computer. You might click the title of each detected hardware device, and expand the details. Information gathered includes hardware product name, hardware manufacturer, chip/chipset name, hardware OEM name, OEM vender, hardware release version.

This should do the trick, can't find the option tho, sorry - but the Fast collect found all my hardware (maybe because the drivers are already installed);)
 

Jim Miller

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 8, 2007
Messages
37
what what u mean on program startup? I run it, then it comes to purchase screen, and i click "Register Later." Then, u mean i click Collect | Collect All?

EDIT: So thats the video card thing? How do I find out the maker and stuff?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top