Solved: xp invalid key

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

12tipp12

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2005
Messages
843
hi folks, my problem is this, one of my home pcs a packard bell 1.5 p4 shows as having an invalid product key and wont let me update "ok" and when i try to install a fresh xp on top of it(legal) it will only get so far and then i get a stop screen come up and i have to shut it down and reopen using the allready installed xp, i dont have a recovery disc to return it to factory settings which leaves me stuck on the dodgy xp. My ? is this, is there some way i can enter the key without installing a fresh xp and if not how do i get past the stop screen and install. Any help and suggestions/advice will be greatly appreciated and i will supply any further info that may be nessary. Thanks in advance.


Sincerly Bill
London UK.

The stop screen shows that windows has shut down to avoid damage to the pc
 
Joined
May 26, 2003
Messages
3,303
If you have a legit copy of XP it should install perfectly. You need to format the HD first (option during install) and not install over the old version of XP.
 

12tipp12

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2005
Messages
843
hello sir(couchmaster), Thats what i thought, and yes it is a legit copy of xp albeit from a different pc and i have installed it on other pcs with no problems. The stop screen shows process1-initialization-failed, it also says to check any new hardware or software is properly installed
if problems continue, disable or remove any newly installed hardware or software. Disable bios memory options such as caching or shadowing.If you need to use safe mode to remove or disable components, restart,-f8-advanced startup options and select safe mode.
techinal info
***stop:0x0000006b (0xc000003a,0x00000002,0x00000000,0x00000000)

Thanks again
Bill
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
You can only install one copy of Windows XP on one computer. If you've already used this disk with the same product key on a different computer, that's probably why you can't update now. The key has already been registered. You'll need to buy another copy of Windows XP for this computer.
 

12tipp12

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2005
Messages
843
hello sir(DoubleHelix), yes, but is that the reason it wont allow me to install the fresh xp with sp2 allready on it(disc).

thanks
Bill
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
No, that's not why you're having problems installing, but once you get it installed, you're going to have the same problems trying to update it, and any other computer you've used this disk on is probably going to run into the same problem eventually.

I'm sorry, but we can't help you install Windows XP using this disk because the license is already in use on another machine.

EDIT: You may be using a legal, "legit" copy of Windows XP, but you're using it in an illegal, illegitimate manner.
 

12tipp12

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2005
Messages
843
Ok sir, i certainly dont wish to do anything illegal and many thanks for your help and advice.

Sincerly Bill
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top