1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: XP laptop cannot connect to the Lan internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Pudding_Cup, Mar 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Pudding_Cup

    Pudding_Cup Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Story: Alright so I recently brought my laptop with me to Florida. We have lan setup here. However I cannot connect to the internet whatsoever. My laptop does say it's connected however it just won't connect. Now the wierd thing is that my sister's laptop will connect to the internet with the SAME ethernet cord and the SAME ethernet jack that I used to try and connect mine.

    Side Information:
    OS: XP
    Ibm thinkpad laptop

    I recently uninstalled my avg antivirus software thinking that might be the problem
    I also decided to turn off my firewall
    Both didn't work

    Thanks in advance for any help
     
  2. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz Mark

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    67,948
    Click Start, Run and in the box, type: cmd then <Enter>.
    In the block command box that should open, type: ipconfig /all then <Enter>
    Other than the IP address, verify that the rest of the numbers are the same between yours and your sister's laptops. You should have the same Default Gateway, DHCP and DNS servers, etc.
    Let us know if things are substantially different.
     
  3. Pudding_Cup

    Pudding_Cup Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Yeah things are substantially different. First of all my computer doesnt even list any of those things that you said. However my sister's computer lists them all. I can't even find the things your talking about on my computer. Would you like a screenshot of both screens to see what im talking about? Or would I be giving out important personal info?
     
  4. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz Mark

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    67,948
    If you right-click on My Computer and click on Properties, then on the Hardware tab, then on Device Manager, do you see any yellow "!"s or red "x"s? Is there a Network Adapters entry? Anything in it?
     
  5. Pudding_Cup

    Pudding_Cup Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Yes there is a Bluetooth Radios tab with a ! and there is a Network Adapters with Intel Pro/Wireless Network Connection in it.
     
  6. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz Mark

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    67,948
    If you double-click on the Intel network connection, does it say "This device is working properly"?
    Did you power up with the laptop plugged in or under battery power?
     
  7. Pudding_Cup

    Pudding_Cup Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Yes it says this device is working properly. And to answer your other question I have tried the laptop both plugged and unplugged.
     
  8. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    A wireless network adapter doesn't have anything to do with a wired connection. Is there no wired adapter listed in Device Manager?
     
  9. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz Mark

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    67,948
    When you did the ipconfig, did anything indicate that a cable was unplugged?
    Try ipconfig /renew and see what happens.
     
  10. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz Mark

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    67,948
    Completely overlooked the "Wireless" above! I guess I need to clean my glasses ...
     
  11. Pudding_Cup

    Pudding_Cup Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Nope I dont see any wired adapters at all. Anything I can do?
     
  12. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz Mark

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    67,948
    I take it there is no wireless network available. Did this laptop work previously?
    Did you inadvertently disable the NIC in BIOS setup?
    You may need to try to download the NIC drivers using the other laptop and transfer them to yours, perhaps with a Flash drive.
     
  13. Pudding_Cup

    Pudding_Cup Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Oh yeah one more thing. You know those two computer icons that light up at the bottom of your screen when you plug the ethernet cable in. Well in my computer, only one of those computer's light up where as on my sister's both of them light up. I dont know if that helps but just providing some more info.
     
  14. Pudding_Cup

    Pudding_Cup Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    I never did play with my laptop's BIOS settings. But I could prolly transfer the drivers on my sisters comp over to mine. I just don't know how. Would it still work if they are different computers? Ill take a look at her device manager and see what I can find.
     
  15. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    If there's no wired network adapter listed in Device Manager and there are no unknown devices listed, then the adapter is probably shot. You'd have to buy and install a replacement.

    A completely different computer's drivers won't help, and the problem isn't driver-related if there's nothing at all listed in Device Manager.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/809997