Solved: XP OEM installation & BSOD

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rainforest123

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
New build
ASUS M2N - E
AMD AM2 64 bit, x2, 4600+
Generic ram, 667 mhz, 1024 MB x 2 sticks
60 GB Hitachi HDD, IDE
Antec 500W Smart Power
XFX GeForce 7600 GS
IDE DVD burner, sony
IDE FDD, sony
OS: Windows XP Pro, SP2; shrink wrapped.

In addition to the XP CD, I received a "Windows XP OEM Pre - installation kit CD". I don't want to create a configuration set or make any modifications to the OS [ customize the interface ].

BSOD during initial Windows setup, before boot into Windows; after I had set the date / time, but I can't tell you if the BSOD appeared immediately or 15 minutes later.
Stop: 0x000000F4 [ 0x00000003, 0x89971130, 0x899712a4, 0x805D1142 ]

I removed 1 of the sticks of ram, which cleared the BSOD issue.

The computer will NOT boot into Windows, EXCEPT in safe mode.
System Config, I disabled all services. No luck.

I replaced the Hitachi HDD with a WD 80 GB HDD. Installed Windows. Same problem.

I put in 2 new sticks of ram. Same problem.

I switched to an Antec True Power 500W power supply. Same problem.

I am running MemTest86 on the most recent 2 sticks of 1024 MB, 667 mhz ram.

I built a system, 3 days ago with
ASUS M2N - E
AMD AM2 64 bit, x2, 4600+
Generic ram, 667 mhz, 1024 MB x 2 sticks
80 GB WD HDD, SATA
Antec 500W Smart Power
XFX GeForce 7600 GS
IDE DVD burners, 2 each, NEC
IDE FDD, sony
Installed Vista Ultimate in less than 30 minutes, no problems.
Thus, I don't think I have a compatibility issue with my components.

I searched the internet & found suggestions that the problem is bad ram; bad HDD; bad power supply.

My Plan:
If MemTest86 finds no problems; 1. reset bios to defaults, 2. swap out the motherboard, 3. swap out the CPU. 4. Install Vista as a test.

I hope you can provide me with additional insight.

Thanks for your suggestions.

Sincerely,
RF123
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
The M2N-E has one IDE connector, so when you installed the IDE hard drive and DVD burner, did you remember to set one as master and other as slave?
 

rainforest123

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
Yes. There is an issue with XP being installed on a slave. I made sure that the HDD is the primary master.

RF123
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
In addition to what you stated bad cd or cd drive needs to be added to list. Make sure cd is clean and free of scratches, and drive can be culprit also. drive can work perfectly on every other function and croak with XP install. Maybe also run recovery console "R" and fixboot, fixmbr to be certain mbr is there and in right place.
Just reread this could be video card bad or no driver....instead of choosing safe mode, choose vga mode and see if you can go up into Windows.
 

rainforest123

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
With a corrupt mbr, it wouldn't boot into safe mode.

The CD is ok.

I'll try another CD drive.

RF123
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
rainforest123 said:
With a corrupt mbr, it wouldn't boot into safe mode.

The CD is ok.

I'll try another CD drive.

RF123
I know I meant to edit that post after I reread it which is why I added to it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top