1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: XP OEM installation & BSOD

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by rainforest123, Jan 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rainforest123

    rainforest123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    New build
    ASUS M2N - E
    AMD AM2 64 bit, x2, 4600+
    Generic ram, 667 mhz, 1024 MB x 2 sticks
    60 GB Hitachi HDD, IDE
    Antec 500W Smart Power
    XFX GeForce 7600 GS
    IDE DVD burner, sony
    IDE FDD, sony
    OS: Windows XP Pro, SP2; shrink wrapped.

    In addition to the XP CD, I received a "Windows XP OEM Pre - installation kit CD". I don't want to create a configuration set or make any modifications to the OS [ customize the interface ].

    BSOD during initial Windows setup, before boot into Windows; after I had set the date / time, but I can't tell you if the BSOD appeared immediately or 15 minutes later.
    Stop: 0x000000F4 [ 0x00000003, 0x89971130, 0x899712a4, 0x805D1142 ]

    I removed 1 of the sticks of ram, which cleared the BSOD issue.

    The computer will NOT boot into Windows, EXCEPT in safe mode.
    System Config, I disabled all services. No luck.

    I replaced the Hitachi HDD with a WD 80 GB HDD. Installed Windows. Same problem.

    I put in 2 new sticks of ram. Same problem.

    I switched to an Antec True Power 500W power supply. Same problem.

    I am running MemTest86 on the most recent 2 sticks of 1024 MB, 667 mhz ram.

    I built a system, 3 days ago with
    ASUS M2N - E
    AMD AM2 64 bit, x2, 4600+
    Generic ram, 667 mhz, 1024 MB x 2 sticks
    80 GB WD HDD, SATA
    Antec 500W Smart Power
    XFX GeForce 7600 GS
    IDE DVD burners, 2 each, NEC
    IDE FDD, sony
    Installed Vista Ultimate in less than 30 minutes, no problems.
    Thus, I don't think I have a compatibility issue with my components.

    I searched the internet & found suggestions that the problem is bad ram; bad HDD; bad power supply.

    My Plan:
    If MemTest86 finds no problems; 1. reset bios to defaults, 2. swap out the motherboard, 3. swap out the CPU. 4. Install Vista as a test.

    I hope you can provide me with additional insight.

    Thanks for your suggestions.

    Sincerely,
    RF123
     
  2. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    The M2N-E has one IDE connector, so when you installed the IDE hard drive and DVD burner, did you remember to set one as master and other as slave?
     
  3. rainforest123

    rainforest123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Yes. There is an issue with XP being installed on a slave. I made sure that the HDD is the primary master.

    RF123
     
  4. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    In addition to what you stated bad cd or cd drive needs to be added to list. Make sure cd is clean and free of scratches, and drive can be culprit also. drive can work perfectly on every other function and croak with XP install. Maybe also run recovery console "R" and fixboot, fixmbr to be certain mbr is there and in right place.
    Just reread this could be video card bad or no driver....instead of choosing safe mode, choose vga mode and see if you can go up into Windows.
     
  5. rainforest123

    rainforest123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    With a corrupt mbr, it wouldn't boot into safe mode.

    The CD is ok.

    I'll try another CD drive.

    RF123
     
  6. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    I know I meant to edit that post after I reread it which is why I added to it.
     
  7. rainforest123

    rainforest123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Bad ribbon cable.

    RF123
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/539871

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice