1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: XP Pro requires response to come up

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by photoguy, Apr 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. photoguy

    photoguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    I wiped my disc and reinstalled XP Pro. I can get on but it is irritating that the system pauses until I hit an Enter before it loads. This means I can't start the machine and walk away and have it up when I return.

    There is no password and a simple Enter is accepted. How can I get the system to come up without requiring this interaction on my part?

    Thanks for any help.

    Photoguy
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,385
    First Name:
    David
    What is displayed on the screen when you must hit the enter key?
     
  3. photoguy

    photoguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Dave,
    It is a Dialog Box titled "Log on to Windows"
    There is a line saying "User Name" and a rectangle with my name in it already.
    Below that is the word "Password" and a blank rectangle.

    Beneath these two lines are three buttons; "OK", "Cancel" and "Options"

    If I just press the "Enter" key, the system starts. I just don't want to be tied to the computer until this box comes up. Before I reinstalled XP, this was not required.

    Thanks for your interest.

    Photoguy
     
  4. Bernardo

    Bernardo

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,221
    Go to the user accounts in the control panel section, and you can change it there so that it doesn't prompt for a log in screen.
     
  5. photoguy

    photoguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Bernardo,

    I went to Control Panel and then to User Accounts but did not see how to change this. Could you be more specific, please.
    Thanks,

    Photoguy
     
  6. Miggs

    Miggs

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    150
    go to Start/Run
    type: control userpasswords2
    deselect "users must enter a user name and password to use this computer"
     
  7. photoguy

    photoguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Miggs,

    Thanks. This was just what I needed.

    Carl
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/917381

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice