Solved: XP Pro SP2 is running like a slug!!!!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

davidpat

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
166
I am at my wits end!
I finally upgraded to SP2, but I don't think that is the reason since it was running this way to some degree prior. I uninstalled Norton System Works and installed Kaspersky Anti Virus 6.0

When I click the start button it can take 20 seconds to open. I started the calc and it took ~1 min to open. I'm at the point where I am going to format this ^%*&% and start from scratch!!!!

HELP!!!!
 

davidpat

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
166
I guess I soupd say that what I'm looking for is some guidance in where to start in fixing this pig, and/or some diagnostic tools, etc...
 

davidpat

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
166
I've noticed that when I run 2 or 3 apps at a time they all seem to hang for a long time, and that is at 1% CPU occ. I have 512 meg of memory and I ran a memory tester to check it and it came back clean.
I'm not sure the online upgrade to SP went well. Is there a way to check that? Is there anything I can do if it didn't?
 

jrbuergel

Jim
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
804
Try to add more memory if possible, as your 512 mb RAM is barely enough for XP to run well. Also do some maintenance, such as run the disk cleanup tool, the defragmenter, and mayby download and install a memory available monitor and release program such as FreeRAM XP pro. Also mayby reduce the number of programs which startup with windows too. Here is a really handy app for startup control; http://www.mlin.net/StartupCPL.shtml which installs in the Control Panel and is better to use than the windows msconfig.exe tool.
 

davidpat

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
166
Do you know how I can figure out the type of memory I have installed. I built this PC a couple of years ago and I don't remember. Is there a tool that can help?
 

jrbuergel

Jim
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
804
I think the online RAM companies like Crucial and Kingston have online system scans to find the right type of memory for you. Or just carefully remove a RAM module stick, and then look really close at it and write down the info from the label on it. Be sure to dissipate any static charge by touching some bare metal on the PC case. Here is one such web site to check; http://www.kingston.com/tools/umg/default.asp
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
475
Control start-ups. Start-up cpl is good. So is WinPatrol. Remember, you don't need it to start with Windows if you have a shoutcut handy.

Control Processes. Sysinternal free Process Explorer is very helpful: http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/ProcessesAndThreads/ProcessExplorer.mspx
Download link at bottom of page. Get process information from: http://www.processlibrary.com/ And also: http://www.fileresearchcenter.com/

Control "Services." Read here first: http://www.theeldergeek.com/services_guide.htm
Remember, when in doubt, use a "Manual" setting.

Control clutter: Programs like CCleaner: http://www.ccleaner.com/ And also ATF Cleaner: http://www.atribune.org/content/view/19/2/ Both do a great job. I like ATF because It is not necessary to install it. Caveat: Both will allow cleaning of the Prefetch Folder. Bear in mind that doing so will considerably slow the opening of programs the next three times. If you clean Prefetch regularly, all your programs will always be very slow to load. Windows holds 128 entries in Prefetch and dumps the last for each new. Absent a malware problem really no benefit from cleaning it.

For specific irritations/problems check out the help files at http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp.htm

SP2 brings some new conditions, and it will probably take a while to get used to it, but in the end I believe the benefits outweigh the annoyances. Good luck, and please post back with your progress.
 

davidpat

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
166
Thanks for the help but I was getting no where fast, so I am reinstalling XP...I'll add SP2 this time.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
10,254
FWIW . . I find if I install SP2 immediately after installing XP I have the fewest issues . . then install chipset and other drivers, then apps
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top