Solved: xp pro - when idling, returns to "switch users" screen

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

snorkytheweasel

Thread Starter
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
215
I'm using XP-SP2 Pro on a stand-alone PC. There are multiple user accounts.

When there is no keyboard or mouse input for x minutes (I haven't measured "x"), XP performs a switch user operation, and returns to the "Switch User" screen. To resume working, the user has to login (again).

Note: in this configuration, CTRL-ALT-DELETE is not necessary at either the original login or this moronic re-login.

I have tried tweaking various settings in Control Panel -> Power Options, including "Advanced" options, to no avail.

How do I disable this Microsoft Madness?

Bonus points: Rhetorically speaking, when those folks in Redmond give users choices, why do they always (and I mean ALWAYS) make the stupidest / most useless option the default? Should I start a new thread to ask that?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top