1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: XP Recovery Problem.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Noyb, Jul 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,820
    I’m trying to recover a HP 520c that had a bad Hard Drive.

    I can’t get it to boot from a Windows XP CD …
    It seems that either CD/DVD drive is not selectable in the BIOS as a boot source.
    ??? Maybe this is because both drives have been changed ???
    I’ve replace the master drive from one of my older HP computers ... still no joy.

    Is there any way to get it so it’ll boot from the Windows CD ?? ... perhaps using a floppy ??
     
  2. Jimmy the Hand

    Jimmy the Hand

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,223
    If you run BIOS Setup, there is a list of IDE devices somewhere. Here you should see your HDDs and CD/DVDs as well. Are the CD/DVD drives recognized by BIOS at all?
     
  3. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,820
    Yes ... But there is no way to select them as a boot source ???
     
  4. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    If you select DC-ROM as the first boot device then you will get the Boot from CD-ROM when booting up and jsut press any key. The boot tracks are on the CD-R or the DVD.
     
  5. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,820
    Think I'll dig out my voltmeter and check the power to the drives ...
    Can't think of any thing else to do right now.

    The falure symtoms ...
    he was trying to burn a DVD from Pinnacle .. and got a DVD error.
    So he rebooted ... then the boot failed ... ntoskrnl.exe missing.

    Went into HP's recovery and did a non destructive recovery ... same problem
    Brought the Tower to me ... I put his HD in an external .. and got the data off it.
    Then tried to make an acronis recovery image .... it said parts were not readable.

    Here's what I see in the bios ....
     

    Attached Files:

    • 94.gif
      94.gif
      File size:
      122.4 KB
      Views:
      40
    • 93.gif
      93.gif
      File size:
      124.2 KB
      Views:
      40
  6. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    Excuse me but you have to move the Atapi Cd-rom up to the top of the list for it to be the first boot device. Follow the instructions on the right side of the screen and it will move and make the hard drive the second.
     
  7. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,820
    Atapi won't move ??? ... like it's not there ???
    Power OK at 11.98v & 5.08v to the CD/DVD drives.
     
  8. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,820
    The drives aren't the originals ... if that makes a difference ...
    expanded boot screen ...
     

    Attached Files:

    • 95.gif
      95.gif
      File size:
      108.7 KB
      Views:
      42
  9. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    I have two burners in mine and it does not make a difference. Do you turn your computer off or just leave it running all of th etime?
     
  10. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,820
    It's not mine ... but I'm sure he doesn't leave it on all the time.
    I did clean it out ... and now the wife is going to have to dust again :D
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Have you reset the BIOS to factory defaults and then tried to get the CD to become the boot device?
     
  12. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,820
    Yes ... several attempts.
     
  13. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,820
    ALSO ...
    All attempts to apply the HP BIOS upgrade(s) using the floppy have failed.

    Am I safe in saying the Mobo failed ??

    The only thing I can think of that I haven'd done, tried or changed ... is to check the power to the MOBO .. but I don't know the pinouts.
     
  14. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,820
    Well … I couldn’t move the ATI to the top of the stack in the BIOS …
    But I could move the others to the bottom … That made things easier.

    Then I removed the Master CD/DVD drive .. and installed the Slave as the Master CD/DVD drive…
    Thinking that a problem with the original may be messing up the system.

    Got some more trouble shooting to do … but it’s loaded and updating right now.
    Many Thanks for the ideas.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/487635

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice