1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: xp startup problem rtwlan

Discussion in 'Networking' started by falcon31, Feb 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. falcon31

    falcon31 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    hello everybody,
    i have recently joined this site and found it very useful with lots of members.the problem i have is that after about one minute of starting windows i end up having to click ok to 4 dialog boxes, one after the other.there must be a reason for this.

    each dialog box contains the heading rtwlan

    !open settings.rtf file failed ! i click ok on this pop up box

    !open networks.rtf file failed ! i click ok on this pop up box

    !open statistics.rtf file failed! i click ok on this pop up box

    !open about.rtf file failed! i click ok on this pop up box

    can anyone explain why these boxes appear and what is rtwlan???:)
    thank you
    falcon31
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,974
    First Name:
    Terry
  3. falcon31

    falcon31 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    thanks
     
  4. carefactornil

    carefactornil

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Did you get a solution to this? I've got exactly the same problem. Occured after playing around with Netgear.

    Thanks
     
  5. falcon31

    falcon31 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    no,its a pity but i have had no joy.i really got no replies and just put up with it since.
    i also have net gear and got it from doing something with net gear.
    please let me know if u get the problem resolved.i will do the same if i get it sorted.
    thanks
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,974
    First Name:
    Terry
    I gave you a link and you replied "thanks." It is easy to assume that you must have solved your problem based on information in that link. You need to be explicit that it did not help, did not apply, etc.

    What's this "have net gear and got it from doing something with net gear"? A Netgear adapter? What's the something that you did with whatever it is?
     
  7. carefactornil

    carefactornil

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    I solved my problem. I uninstalled the last driver of Netgear's adapter, taking it back to an earlier one, installing again fresh. But then I just used Windows (Control Panel) to set up & manage the connection rather than the Netgear software and it seems to have solved all my issues. Hope that helps.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Great! :)

    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the top of the page in the upper right corner.© :)
     
  9. falcon31

    falcon31 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    sorry for not gettinb to you sonner,i have tryed this site but had no luck
     
  10. falcon31

    falcon31 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    sorry its an internet connection from netgear, i am signed up with ntl in ireland but they use netgear to get internet connection.i think they are based in india
     
  11. falcon31

    falcon31 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    i am going to try this in the next week.i just have some listings currently on ebay and just afraid i wont get back internet connection if i do something wrong.i will give it a go next tuesday.
    thank you very much for your help.
    i will get back in touch
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I guess I don't understand, do you still have a problem?
     
  13. falcon31

    falcon31 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    sorry john, yes i still have the problem.its to do with net gear.it a company that i use to get my internet connection.i am living in ireland and net gear is located in india, i think.
    my internet conection went a few months ago and what ever i done i got this problem.it means each time i turn on my pc i have to press ok, 3 times.
    i am going to do as carefactornil has said and will see what happens
    i will get back and close the thread if i have sucess, thanks
     
  14. falcon31

    falcon31 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    i am away for a few days and when i return next wednesday ist of august.i will try what you mentioned on my pc.will i have to ring up net gear again to get reconnected?
    its looks so complicated. it seems like a big job to re install it??
    will get back next week
    thank you
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/542405

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice