1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: XP to Vista back to XP

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by corie_1, Oct 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. corie_1

    corie_1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    I was helping a friend put Vista on his laptop. Was running xp. Asked him if it was compatible, he said yes. Was not. Now he wants to go back to XP. We have the start up disk for xp. how do i go about reformatting the hard drive. I tried to boot from the cd. I get to where it restarts the laptop then says can find the disk.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
  3. corie_1

    corie_1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    it is an Inspiron 9300 Dell
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    just in case you keep the recovery partition on the machine
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
  6. corie_1

    corie_1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    that's good, but i can only get to the part where i push enter to start. then it says that it can not continue because i don't have an operating system.
     
  7. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,743
    Do you have the original Dell Recovery CD/DVDs ???
    If so ... you should not be having this problem.

    Otherwise .. it might be easier to try to get them from Dell
     
  8. corie_1

    corie_1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    i don't. i will contact dell. thank you for your help
     
  9. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,743
    If the Dells don't work .. There's a very small chance that it's because Dell sees the Vista.
    In this case .. the HD must be wiped clean first.

    I've had this problem with HPs

    Holler if you can't get them from Dell
     
  10. corie_1

    corie_1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    how do u wipe it clean? it's see's the vista
     
  11. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,743
    I put it in a USB adapter .. and wipe it from another computer.
    you can also use Gparted in the same computer.

    If you do not have the Dell recoveries .. I don't think this is your problem.

    Sounds like you need to install the SATA drives at the F6 prompt by using a Floppy...
    or slipstreaming the drivers into the XP install CD.
    You also need to know .. and find .. which SATA driver you need.

    This is why I said it might be easier to use the Dell recoveries.
    They will also load all the original Dell supplied Applications
     
  12. corie_1

    corie_1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    ok. thank you. i will contact dell today.
     
  13. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,743
    Windows 7 will be available tomorrow ..
    But if your friend does not like Vista ... I'd say that he will NOT like Windows 7.
    It just looks like an expensive and problematic Vista Service Pack to me.

    Let us know how you make out with Dell .. OK ???
     
  14. corie_1

    corie_1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    they r mailing me the disks. thank you so much
     
  15. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,743
    That's Great .. Holler if you have trouble with them.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/870358

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice