Solved: XP Won't Let Me Print

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tangley

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2007
Messages
15
I'm not sure this is the right forum. I posted the same message in the hardware forum earlier, but when I thought again it seemed more of a Winproblem.

I recently had a problem with freeze-ups from lack of disc space and/or memory, and managed, with help, to resolve it. One problem that started at the same time is that my OS wouldn't let me print. Whenever I tried to print anything I got a message saying "Document can not be printed due to a system error." Then it says to restart Windows and try again. I have restarted many times with the same result. I have uninstalled and reinstalled the printer. I have unplugged and re-plugged the cables. I have tried out every available port. I have searched Microsoft support pages for updates or hotfixes. The printer itself will print its diagnostic test page, so I think the problem is within Windows somewhere. But I can't find it. I've gone through the entire troubleshooter in Windows Help. Nothing works. All I get is the same message about an unidentified system error, with no clue as to what the error is.

Can someone please tell me what to do?

Acer Aspire Desktop
Windows XP Media Center Edition
AMD Athlon 64 Processor
160 GB SATA Hard Disc/512 MB DDR2 Memory
Printer: HP PCS 1210 All-In-One (color,inkjet,print,copy,scan)
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
32,649
Hello have a look in control panel administrative tools event viewer

for any errors that might relate to your problem please
 

tangley

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2007
Messages
15
I'm attaching an exerpt from my event log with details of several warning/errors that might be pertinent. I hope you can understand it because I don't. If you find out anything that might help me to fix this problem I would love to hear it. Thank you.
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
32,649
Have you any other printer drivers on your pc
maybe from an old printer and are you using an office program
 

tangley

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2007
Messages
15
I ran the sfc /scannow about an hour ago and then rebooted. That didn't fix the error. Would it help to run the scan again?

I have never had any other printer. The printer is older than the computer. It worked well until this error came up a few days ago. I am not using a Microsoft Office or any other office style programs right now. I had Works Home but uninstalled it to free up disc space. I have it on disc.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
32,649
Select 'Start' ant then 'Control Panel'. Open the System icon and click on
the 'Advanced' tab. Then select 'Performance' and the 'Data Execution Prevention' tab.

This can have two settings with the first one for essential windows programs
and services. If you are running with this option then you should be OK and
will not have to add the driver file.

However if you have selected the second option and are having problems
printing (System Error) then you will need to press the Add button and add in
the driver file.
 

tangley

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2007
Messages
15
It works!

Thank you! A thousand times thank you!

The wrong box was checked. I have no idea when, why or how it got changed. Whatever I did, I will never do it again.

I'm certainly glad there are people like you around. Thanks again.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2007
Messages
1
Blackmirror said:
Select 'Start' ant then 'Control Panel'. Open the System icon and click on
the 'Advanced' tab. Then select 'Performance' and the 'Data Execution Prevention' tab.

This can have two settings with the first one for essential windows programs
and services. If you are running with this option then you should be OK and
will not have to add the driver file.

However if you have selected the second option and are having problems
printing (System Error) then you will need to press the Add button and add in
the driver file.
Thank you so much, I have essentially the same system as Tangley. This is 1st store bought system I've had since 1995. I put several AMD based systems together, pretty good at hardware, but suck at software. The HP printer was working fine until I tested out a Canon on my system for my wife last week. I dual boot, the printer worked fine on Ubuntu, so I knew it was a windows problem. I went to 'Data Execution Prevention' and changed the setting. I tried everything except that.
Thanks again,
Liam
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top