Solved: XPpro. Unsolicited sfc.exe stuck. Can't stop it.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

d4l3d

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 28, 2006
Messages
107
I was copying c drive program files folder to an external drive unattended. When I came back, my overworking cpu prompted me to look in task manager. Sfc.exe was the main offender. I never called it up to run. How do I stop it? I can't kill it in task manager and it's causing the cpu to run hot. I had to shut down that machine.

Thanks
 

d4l3d

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 28, 2006
Messages
107
Thank you for your response. My replies may be delayed as I'm dealing with multiple life issues. I hadn't discovered that article. Unfortunately, some of it is a little over my head. The machine is a second hand legacy HP. The repair disks were already out of production and alternate sources had dried up. There is no I386 folder. I will check the registry settings as per the article but frankly, I don't see how that may help with this machine. The bottom of the article states there is no longer an sfc /cancel. Given what I've stated above, does this mean I have no way to resolve this?
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,447
Do you have the Xp install Cd - or can you borrow one?
Boot from the Xp install Cd...when prompted press [R]
Choose Windows installation [typically by pressing [1]
When prompted for password. Press Enter.
Then Type
chkntfs /x c:

Press Enter.
C: being the drive letter that Xp is installed on.
This should clear the dirty bits on the drive and allow a normal boot.
It has to be the full Xp install Cd - a not an OEM Cd[original equipment manufacturer]
 

d4l3d

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 28, 2006
Messages
107
Thanks Blues Harp
As stated above, no disks, also no access to another source. HP didn't provide full disks, I believe. On restart I discovered a request to reactivate, 2 days left, no internet and a missing MSN connection manager device. I can't resolve this in the time left. So, new question: will I be able to move the external drive in question to a different machine without triggering SFC on that machine?
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,447
So, new question: will I be able to move the external drive in question to a different machine without triggering SFC on that machine?
The sfc problem was on the installed hard drive, C: - not the external drive.
 

d4l3d

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 28, 2006
Messages
107
Thank you.
It was a dumb question I know but, with only this one machine left and my health dependent on it, I couldn't take anything for granted. This current machine, which is a new acquisition, is also legacy and yet to be backed up/protected. Panic inducing situation. More so than most, it's critical for me to stay running and connected. I'm grateful for all the help.
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,447
We can't be too careful that is true.
Glad to be of some help - if you need assistance with the new system, let us know.
:)
 

d4l3d

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 28, 2006
Messages
107
"...if I need assistance..." You may regret that. :)
Loads of small problems jumping from XP x86 to Win 7 x64 without the learning period I expected with both machines running. I know this doesn't belong but, I'm hoping you can point me to a thread I have yet to discover here. I have installed my pre AOL copy of Winamp 5 + modern skin. On Aero desktop, when I try, for instance, to resize a Winamp window the system complains of incompatibility and reverts to Win 7 Basic. This also happens after a reboot if Winamp is in the startup folder (which I preferred). Is there a thread addressing this incompatibility?
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,447
I did say, 'let us know' ;)
I haven't used Winamp since Win 98 days and have no idea of why this is happening.
I will research the problem but you may need to post in the Multimedia forum, for a more up to date answer.
 

d4l3d

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 28, 2006
Messages
107
Thanks. Curious what you might find. I seem to be getting worse at choosing effective search phrases. Ultimately, I knew I'd need to start a different thread. Addition optional question if I may: what do you use for audio? This will be the end of my brain-picking under this header. Don't want to bend any rules to breaking.
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,447
For your Winamp problem you will need to post in the Multimedia forum.
Although I obviously like music [clues in the name above] I seldom save music to any pc that I am using.
I am using Xp pc at the moment but my two others pc's run Linux Mint and installed on all pc's is VLC Media Player but I think you are looking for something more comprehensive.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top