1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Yet another Crysis "Can I Run It?" question

Discussion in 'Games' started by Maverick3660, Oct 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Maverick3660

    Maverick3660 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    I tried the "Can I Run It" website which told me that my laptop could run Crysis on minimum settings only, but when I checked why it did not meet recommended settings, the graphics card was the only area to fail. The explanation made no sense. While the card failed overall, each of the broken down criterion were met and surpassed. This worries me a bit, as I would like to get the game but don't want to have it run on lowest settings. I understand that I will not be able to get to the maximum (CRAZY requirements), but I would like something above minimum. As I cannot try the game before paying for it, I thought that I would post and see if someone knows something that I don't. Thanks for any help.

    Here are my system specs: (If you're brave enough to read it all - thank the dxdiag for being incredibly detailed) (A few choice bits, namely device names and driver information have been removed for space, but all needed devices and drivers are installed and up to date.)
    ------------------
    System Information
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 10/14/2008, 19:36:07
    Machine name: SETH-PC
    Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6000) (6000.vista_gdr.071023-1545)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: TOSHIBA
    System Model: Satellite P205D
    BIOS: Ver 1.00PARTTBL
    Processor: AMD Turion(tm) 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-64 (2 CPUs), ~2.2GHz
    Memory: 2046MB RAM
    Page File: 1340MB used, 2964MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 10
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 6.00.6000.16386 32bit Unicode

    --------------------
    DirectX Debug Levels
    --------------------
    Direct3D: 0/4 (retail)
    DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
    DirectInput: 0/5 (retail)
    DirectMusic: 0/5 (retail)
    DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
    DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
    DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

    ---------------
    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 2600
    Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
    Chip type: ATI Radeon Graphics Processor (0x9581)
    DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9581&SUBSYS_FF011179&REV_00
    Display Memory: 1021 MB
    Dedicated Memory: 254 MB
    Shared Memory: 767 MB
    Current Mode: 1440 x 900 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor: Generic PnP Monitor
    Driver Name: atiumdag.dll,atiumdva.dat,atitmmxx.dll
    Driver Version: 7.14.0010.0503 (English)
    DDI Version: 9Ex
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 6/21/2007 05:15:00, 2861056 bytes
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    WHQL Date Stamp:
    Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-D6C1-11CF-3E73-0BDFA1C2CA35}
    Vendor ID: 0x1002
    Device ID: 0x9581
    SubSys ID: 0xFF011179
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C

    DDraw Status: Enabled
    D3D Status: Enabled
    AGP Status: Enabled

    -------------
    Sound Devices
    -------------
    Description: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
    Default Sound Playback: Yes
    Default Voice Playback: Yes
    Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0268&SUBSYS_1179FF08&REV_1000
    Manufacturer ID: 1
    Product ID: 100
    Type: WDM
    Driver Name: RTKVHDA.sys
    Driver Version: 6.00.0001.5449 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    Date and Size: 7/19/2007 13:32:40, 1841312 bytes
    Other Files:
    Driver Provider: Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
    HW Accel Level: Basic
    Cap Flags: 0xF1F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
    Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
    Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
    HW Memory: 0
    Voice Management: No
    EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
    I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
    Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No

    Description: Digital Output Device (HDMI) (High Definition Audio Device)
    Default Sound Playback: No
    Default Voice Playback: No
    Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_1002&DEV_AA01&SUBSYS_00AA0100&REV_1000
    Manufacturer ID: 1
    Product ID: 100
    Type: WDM
    Driver Name: HdAudio.sys
    Driver Version: 6.00.5840.16387 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    Date and Size: 11/2/2006 03:36:49, 235520 bytes
    Other Files:
    Driver Provider: Microsoft
    HW Accel Level: Basic
    Cap Flags: 0xF1F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
    Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
    Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
    HW Memory: 0
    Voice Management: No
    EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
    I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
    Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No

    Description: Realtek Digital Output (Realtek High Definition Audio)
    Default Sound Playback: No
    Default Voice Playback: No
    Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0268&SUBSYS_1179FF08&REV_1000
    Manufacturer ID: 1
    Product ID: 100
    Type: WDM
    Driver Name: RTKVHDA.sys
    Driver Version: 6.00.0001.5449 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    Date and Size: 7/19/2007 13:32:40, 1841312 bytes
    Other Files:
    Driver Provider: Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
    HW Accel Level: Basic
    Cap Flags: 0xF1F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
    Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
    Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
    HW Memory: 0
    Voice Management: No
    EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
    I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
    Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No

    ---------------------
    Sound Capture Devices
    ---------------------
    Description: Microphone (Realtek High Definition Audio)
    Default Sound Capture: Yes
    Default Voice Capture: Yes
    Driver Name: RTKVHDA.sys
    Driver Version: 6.00.0001.5449 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Date and Size: 7/19/2007 13:32:40, 1841312 bytes
    Cap Flags: 0x1
    Format Flags: 0xFFFFF

    -------------------
    DirectInput Devices
    -------------------
    Device Name: Mouse
    Attached: 1
    Controller ID: n/a
    Vendor/Product ID: n/a
    FF Driver: n/a

    Device Name: Keyboard
    Attached: 1
    Controller ID: n/a
    Vendor/Product ID: n/a
    FF Driver: n/a

    Device Name: Microsoft Wireless Optical Mouse® 1.00
    Attached: 1
    Controller ID: 0x0
    Vendor/Product ID: 0x045E, 0x00E1
    FF Driver: n/a

    Poll w/ Interrupt: No

    -----------
    USB Devices
    -----------
    + USB Root Hub
    | Vendor/Product ID: 0x1002, 0x4389
    | Matching Device ID: usb\root_hub
    | Service: usbhub
    | Driver: usbhub.sys, 3/22/2008 18:23:35, 193536 bytes
    | Driver: usbd.sys, 3/22/2008 18:23:35, 5888 bytes

    ----------------
    Gameport Devices
    ----------------

    ------------
    PS/2 Devices
    ------------
    + Standard PS/2 Keyboard
    | Matching Device ID: *pnp0303
    | Service: i8042prt
    | Driver: i8042prt.sys, 3/22/2008 18:29:04, 54784 bytes
    | Driver: kbdclass.sys, 3/22/2008 18:29:04, 35384 bytes
    |
    + Terminal Server Keyboard Driver
    | Matching Device ID: root\rdp_kbd
    | Upper Filters: kbdclass
    | Service: TermDD
    | Driver: i8042prt.sys, 3/22/2008 18:29:04, 54784 bytes
    | Driver: kbdclass.sys, 3/22/2008 18:29:04, 35384 bytes
    |
    + Synaptics PS/2 Port TouchPad
    | Matching Device ID: *syn0705
    | Upper Filters: SynTP
    | Service: i8042prt
    |
    + Microsoft USB Wireless Mouse (IntelliPoint)
    | Vendor/Product ID: 0x045E, 0x00E1
    | Matching Device ID: hid\vid_045e&pid_00e1&col02
    | Upper Filters: Point32
    | Service: mouhid
    | Driver: point32k.sys, 8/21/2007 04:13:04, 24064 bytes
    | Driver: mouhid.sys, 3/22/2008 18:29:04, 15872 bytes
    | Driver: mouclass.sys, 3/22/2008 18:29:04, 34360 bytes
    |
    + Terminal Server Mouse Driver
    | Matching Device ID: root\rdp_mou
    | Upper Filters: mouclass
    | Service: TermDD
    | Driver: termdd.sys, 11/2/2006 05:50:28, 50792 bytes
    | Driver: sermouse.sys, 3/22/2008 18:29:04, 19968 bytes
    | Driver: mouclass.sys, 3/22/2008 18:29:04, 34360 bytes

    ------------------------
    Disk & DVD/CD-ROM Drives
    ------------------------
    Drive: C:
    Free Space: 111.9 GB
    Total Space: 237.0 GB
    File System: NTFS
    Model: n/a

    Drive: D:
    Model: PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-K17LF ATA Device
    Driver: c:\windows\system32\drivers\cdrom.sys, 6.00.6000.16386 (English), 11/2/2006 04:51:44, 67072 bytes
     
  2. Mosquito555

    Mosquito555

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,357
    The definition of "above minimum" highly depends on your personal view of gaming quality. You can of course max the graphics detail a bit but you will gain a performance hit. A lot of hardcore gamers consider getting lower than 40fps at a game bad performance. I am myself happy if I can get 30-35!

    So, as long as you get acceptable frame rates you can push the detail a little further. It is almost impossible to tell how a computer will run a game, let alone the opinion of its user.

    But enough talk, let's face some facts!

    -Getting a demo or renting the game if possible will be the best solution. Otherwise we are just guessing.

    -Keep in mind that the "Can I run it?" website does not rate the performance of your machine via some benchmarking program. It just compares your system with the requirements found on each games box. It actually is like looking at the games box!!! My experience is that manufacturers' posted requirements are somewhat different (meaning lower) than the actual requirements for optimal gameplay...Marketing tricks...

    -I could run Crysis with my 7600GS 256MB at low-medium at 1024x768. Reducing the resolution to 800x600 made the gameplay totally smooth but the graphics were awful on my 17" screen.

    -The HD2600 is a bit more powerful than my card, however you have a mobile version, meaning that it will have somewhat reduced performance.

    -Also, I have 2GBs of RAM but I'm using Windows XP. Vista will allocate more of your RAM so the game will have to use less.

    -You have an LCD screen with a native resolution of 1440x960 meaning that you must use that resolution to avoid graphical distortion. Going to 800x600 may just be awful with your display. But running Crysis at 1440x960 will bring your graphics card to its knees...

    So, unfortunately yes, you may only play Crysis at low settings. If only you could lower the resolution...This alone would have sped things up a bit, allowing higher settings meaning possibly medium settings.

    Again, you ll never be sure if you don't try for yourself! :)
     
  3. Maverick3660

    Maverick3660 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    I probably should have added this in earlier, but I didn't know how it compared. I run Oblivion at nearly maxed out settings (just a few things turned down here and there, but nothing related to textures) and get somewhere between 35-40 fps average. The game seems to be heavily reliant on beautiful graphics, but never having seen Crysis run on in an actual setting (not on videos), I really can't compare. The mobile version of the Radeon card doesn't seem to cause too much reduced performance, however continuous play results in problems concerning heat (which is why I have a fairly nice cooling pad, but as it is a laptop there is not much else that can be done). By tweaking certain aspects of Vista, such as destroying Aero, I have been able to reduce the RAM usage, but Vista still is a pretty big memory whore. If that comes to a problem, I can easily, and relatively cheaply, add RAM to my system.

    About the display, the Radeon control center is integrated directly into the display settings, so theoretically I could manually manipulate the display with minimal distortion. I haven't experimented with this, so I don't really know. At any rate, I run Oblivion at 1440x960 resolution with no problems.

    Heat is my major problem, and I have yet to find an efficient way to combat it. I would note that this was never intended to be a major gaming machine. In fact, I only wanted to be able to run a few games but use the computer mainly for college functions. It just so happened that I found it at a major discount, prefab, at the local H H Gregg.

    I hadn't thought about running a demo. I'll have to look about for a decent one. Should I not be able to find one, do you know of a place that rents PC games? I didn't know there was such a possibility.
     
  4. br1ng3r

    br1ng3r

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Hi Maverick3660, just a quick one for you. You'll find that most decent video/dvd rental stores will rent out games on a nightly/weekly basis. Which is ideal if you want to test a game out before you commit to buy.
     
  5. Gulo Luseus

    Gulo Luseus

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,462
    Take what can you run it says with a big pinch of salt. I tried it on my machine before I upgradrd my GPUs ( back then I only had 2 x 8800 GT OC2 cards) and it told me I didnt meet min specs as my cards didnt have enough memory.
    With the new cards in ( 2 x GTX 260s) I can get min, and just (JUST) pass recommended. In terms of real gameplay, I can play on highest, on a 1900x1200 screen, full shaders, and get about 45fps min. So, dont go too much on the site, the checks are not always perfect. I think the prob is that it treats every detail equally, so failing, or just meeting, a minor is rated the same as a major :)
     
  6. Mosquito555

    Mosquito555

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,357
    Gulo Luseus you are in the lucky side! Although your machine does not seem to meet certain requirements you are able to set graphics higher and play. Unfortunately this is not the case for most gamers/games. The system requirements are rated in a very optimistic view! In my opinion, as close as you are to the minimum specs the more unplayable your game becomes. BTW you have an SLI setup with two 260GTX cards, Maverick just one Radeon 2600 Mobility...Even a single GF7600GT can outperform a 2600 Pro (I assume that the mobility Radeon is closer to the Pro than the XT).

    Maverick, do not compare two different games (Crysis and Oblivion) just because some screenshots give you the impression that graphics are similar. Oblivion is out for more than two years. I almost maxed it out myself back then using the same system with 1GB RAM less. Resolution was 1024x768, sometimes 1280x1024 no HDR but with bloom...But Crysis is crawling on my machine, the same machine which almost maxed out Oblivion!!! Man I really want you to enjoy Crysis, I'm not trying to discourage you. But I was disappointed the way Crysis performed on my setup, I just want to pass you my experience so that you don't pay for the game and then get disappointed too.:eek:

    Anyway, as already stated trying Crysis somehow will help you make your mind. This info can't just be dug out from a forum! :D

    As for the display thing: I don't mean that the radeon cannot use different resolutions nor I mean that your display is bad. It's just how TFT LCD displays work. They always distort picture when operating at different than their native resolution. See for yourself: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Native_resolution
     
  7. Gulo Luseus

    Gulo Luseus

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,462
    Sorry, Mos, the intention of the post was to confirm that the site doesnt always give a full view. Regardless of the GPUs, CPU, or other hardware, canyourunit seems to give some strange results at times. Just because it says you can or cant run a game doesnt mean that you can or cant, its just an indicator.
    As Mos said, if you can try it, do, its the only real way to find out. In this case, try the demo and see if low specs are good enough for you. Be warned though, there are some areas in th emain game that can really slow you down ( snow areas were terrible), and with a good number of enemies, you can slow down again.
     
  8. Mosquito555

    Mosquito555

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,357
    Yes mate, I understood that, sorry if I didn't make it clear through my post! :)

    Just wanted to clarify things and avoid a possible misunderstanding on Maverick's side regarding system requirements!
     
  9. Maverick3660

    Maverick3660 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    About the GPU, this is going to sound strange, I don't quite understand it myself, but the card that I have is generally more powerful than the Pro retail version. Mine has about twice the memory of the Pro. Even still, it is a mobility, and a game like Crysis would probably laugh at that.

    I was surprised about what you said about Oblivion vs. Crysis. I understand that the former is a bit older and isn't a perfect comparison (I suppose there is none), but I never expected that sort of discrepancy.

    Something that I hadn't thought of, if I wanted to run Crysis I would certainly have to lower the resolution, which would result in the distortion that you talked about. To minimize that, I would have to run anti-aliasing. That would probably screw with the frame rate as well.

    I found a demo and I am going to try it, but honestly the odds don't look good. It was only an outside chance from the start. Thank you for all of your advice. Hey, if I hadn't tried this I probably would have bought the game and then been disappointed. That wouldn't have been very good, now would it?
     
  10. Mosquito555

    Mosquito555

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,357
    -More memory doesn't mean better performance. It is a common marketing tactic for manufacturers to add more memory to low end cards or to use technologies like HyperMemory (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HyperMemory) in order to make them appealing to buyers. So keep in mind that your card DOES NOT have 1GB of dedicated memory. According to your dxdiag log it only has 256MB (Same amount as the Pro) but it can allocate system RAM if necessary. Theoretically this could boost performance in memory hungry situations (like high detail textures, high resolutions, extreme AA) but: It will take memory needed by the system, the system will have to use virtual memory so the overall performance will drop and of course system RAM is quite slow compared to dedicated video RAM.
     
  11. Maverick3660

    Maverick3660 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    I see. That actually makes sense. Well, I was fooled yet again by the corporation, and something else anti-establishment like that. Oh well, it is just a Laptop and I really didn't spend that much money on it. I tried the demo and got about 15-20 fps on medium and somewhere between 30-35 fps on low. Either way, the graphics had to be substantially lowered to produce a somewhat playable experience. I'll have to save Crysis for when I build my performance desktop (I'll stay away from low dedicated memory but high total).

    Thanks for the help! I guess that means this one's closed!
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/759249

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice