1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Yet another "Limited or no connectivity" issue

Discussion in 'Networking' started by OdieTurbo, Mar 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. OdieTurbo

    OdieTurbo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Hello! I am new here and figured I would give you folks a go.

    I've got an internet connection problem that has me stumped. I've googled for days and tried many things to no avail. I will now bow down to the experts.

    I am running Windows 7 on a 64-bit quad-core machine. I use both Internet Explorer and Firefox. My PC is connected to a D-Link EBR-2310 Version B Router which in turn is connected to a Motorola Surfboard 5100 cable modem through Time Warner Cable's Road Runner. For the the software side, I have Windows firewall turned off and am using Norton's Internet Security Suite.

    At irregular intervals, I will get a loss of connection. Both IE and Firefox will time out loading the page and ask me to "Try Again". After about 2-3 minutes, the connection resumes by itself. This can happen 5 minutes apart or 2 days apart. Just tonight, it has happened 3 times.

    To resolve the problem, I can either wait or unplug the cable modem and wait 20 seconds. Upon rebooting, the internet is back up (this may or may not have any effect as the time to reboot is usually the time it takes to come back on its own).

    I have tried too many things to list. For now I have completely reset the router so it is in "out of the box" configuration.

    Here is some detailed information:
    Code:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.
    
    C:\Users\Todd>ipconfig/all
    
    Windows IP Configuration
    
       Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Todds-Quad-Core
       Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
       Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
       IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
       WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
       DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : stny.rr.com
    
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : stny.rr.com
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-92-ED-E6-C2
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
       Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8573:4edd:212e:c867%11(Preferred)
       IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.103(Preferred)
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
       Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, March 04, 2010 7:09:04 PM
       Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, March 05, 2010 7:12:31 PM
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
       DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
       DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234888594
       DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-7E-80-A1-00-1D-92-ED-E6-C2
    
       DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
       NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{FED0CE2A-B397-4A09-9C47-194ADA432023}:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
       IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:8a8:3d7e:ba32:ac2(Prefer
    red)
       Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8a8:3d7e:ba32:ac2%13(Preferred)
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
       NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    
    C:\Users\Todd>ping google.com
    
    Pinging google.com [64.233.169.105] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 64.233.169.105: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=241
    Reply from 64.233.169.105: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=241
    Reply from 64.233.169.105: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=241
    Reply from 64.233.169.105: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=241
    
    Ping statistics for 64.233.169.105:
        Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
        Minimum = 27ms, Maximum = 32ms, Average = 29ms
    
    C:\Users\Todd>
    Thank you in advance for your assistance. I hope once I have been helped, I will be able to help others on this forum.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,971
    First Name:
    Wayne
    We need to have information please.

    - Who is your ISP (Internet Service Provider) - have you checked to see if they have an issue at all
    - Make and Exact model of all PCs and Laptops
    - How are the PCs / Laptops connected - full details - cable, wireless
    - Are there any other machines working - if so please provide details
    - If using wireless, do you have Encryption - if so, Remove any wireless encryption from the router, and try to connect - post back results

    Ipconfig /all and ping tests - post back results for when its working OK and then repeat the tests when it disconnects, copy into notepad so you can post when the internet is returned
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all

    -> Start > run {search bar in Vista} > cmd > ipconfig /all
    post back the results here

    TWO Methods to do that - if you cannot access the internet with PC, then use method 2 to copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    Method ONE -------------------------------------------------------------
    start > run {search bar in Vista} > cmd > ipconfig /all

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Method TWO -------------------------------------------------------------
    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:
    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    {Ping Tests}

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.191.93.53
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    If you are using wireless

    Download and install
    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php

    Then run the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,176
    First Name:
    Terry
    When you lose connection can you tell if the loss is between PC and router, router and modem, or modem and ISP?

    If you have any other computer on your network that will help to answer that. If you only have the one computer you can connect directly to the modem to eliminate the router for testing.
     
  4. OdieTurbo

    OdieTurbo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    - My ISP is Time Warner Cable Road Runner. Repeated phone calls and they ensure my connection is OK. They even replaced the cable from the pole to my house and all internal cabling.

    - Only 1 PC, a custom-built quad-core. Using a XFX nForce 630i with Geforce 7150 (MG-630I-7159) with Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66Ghz Socket 775 CPU and 4GB RAM. Also a Xbox 360 is connected to the Router.

    - PC and Xbox are connected to the Router with standard CAT5 cables. Router is connected to the Cable Modem with a standard CAT5 cable. The EBR-2310 does not have wireless.

    - Encryption is not applicable.

    The results of this during my normal connection are posted in my original post. I will post the results of a connection lapse as soon as it occurs.

    Also included in my original post.

    Code:
    C:\Users\Todd>Ping 192.168.0.1
    
    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    
    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
        Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
        Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 12ms, Average = 3ms
    
    C:\Users\Todd>
    Code:
    C:\Users\Todd>Ping 209.191.93.53
    
    Pinging 209.191.93.53 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.191.93.53: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=48
    Reply from 209.191.93.53: bytes=32 time=61ms TTL=48
    Reply from 209.191.93.53: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=48
    Reply from 209.191.93.53: bytes=32 time=61ms TTL=48
    
    Ping statistics for 209.191.93.53:
        Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
        Minimum = 57ms, Maximum = 62ms, Average = 60ms
    
    C:\Users\Todd>
     
  5. OdieTurbo

    OdieTurbo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Currently when connection is lost, I can communicate with the router via its web interface. I cannot communicate with the modem.

    I suppose I could go without Xbox Live for a while to connect the PC directly to the modem. Let me know when I should try this.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,176
    First Name:
    Terry
    That indicates the router is losing connection to the modem. Make sure you have the latest firmware update for the router. Then reset it to factory default settings and reconfigure it. If the problem persists try the direct connection to the modem to confirm that the router is sick.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,971
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Also the status of any lights on the router and modem - are they both showing connections light status as if they are connected OK
     
  8. OdieTurbo

    OdieTurbo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Router is updated with the latest firmware and is set to factory defaults now. Also, here are the results of ipconfig /all and ping while the problem occurs:

    Code:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.
    
    C:\Users\Heather>ipconfig /all
    
    Windows IP Configuration
    
       Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Todds-Quad-Core
       Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
       Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
       IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
       WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
       DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : stny.rr.com
    
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : stny.rr.com
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-92-ED-E6-C2
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
       Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8573:4edd:212e:c867%11(Preferred)
       IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.103(Preferred)
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
       Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, March 06, 2010 4:22:44 PM
       Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, March 07, 2010 4:22:44 PM
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
       DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
       DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234888594
       DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-7E-80-A1-00-1D-92-ED-E6-C2
    
       DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
       NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    
    Tunnel adapter isatap.stny.rr.com:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : stny.rr.com
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
       IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:14ce:1581:ba32:ac2(Prefe
    rred)
       Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::14ce:1581:ba32:ac2%12(Preferred)
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
       NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    
    C:\Users\Heather>ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
    .
    
    C:\Users\Heather>ping google.com
    
    Pinging google.com [64.233.169.99] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 64.233.169.99: bytes=32 time=48ms TTL=241
    Reply from 64.233.169.99: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=241
    Reply from 64.233.169.99: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=241
    Reply from 64.233.169.99: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=241
    
    Ping statistics for 64.233.169.99:
        Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
        Minimum = 40ms, Maximum = 48ms, Average = 42ms
    
    C:\Users\Heather>ping google.com
    
    Pinging google.com [64.233.169.99] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 64.233.169.99: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=241
    Reply from 64.233.169.99: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=241
    Reply from 64.233.169.99: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=241
    Reply from 64.233.169.99: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=241
    
    Ping statistics for 64.233.169.99:
        Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
        Minimum = 39ms, Maximum = 41ms, Average = 40ms
    
    C:\Users\Heather>
    I am now going to disconnect the Router and run straight to the modem to confirm that it is the issue.
     
  9. OdieTurbo

    OdieTurbo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Yes, all lights are lit as normal when the connection goes down.
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,176
    First Name:
    Terry
    Remember to power cycle (unplug for 30 seconds) the modem when switching the device connected to it.
     
  11. OdieTurbo

    OdieTurbo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks for the reminder! All set now, running on modem only. I won't know for a day or two of continuous usage.

    If it turns out to be the Router, what would the next step be?
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,176
    First Name:
    Terry
    Start shopping for a new one.
     
  13. OdieTurbo

    OdieTurbo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Well, I have been running for a week without the Router and no issues. Apparently I have a bad Router. I will start shopping for a new one.

    Thank you all!
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved another Limited
  1. boostinu13
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    225
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/907847

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice