Solved: Zipped File

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Cheyene

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
4
Hello, I am using Vista. I have a file which I downloaded from a web site. The correct amount of data was downloaded, 3GB. When I unzipped the file, it looks like I only have access to some of the files not all. I have (hopefully) attached a copy of the files. The only file I can open is the 'setup - Application'. Can someone please help me.
 

Attachments

fairnooks

Banned
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
5,251
The ones that look faded out are probably hidden files; do you have show hidden files turned on?


It looks like a standard installation program set to me. If you click on setup that should take you through the process of installing and it will access the other files and data in that set while installing. Is it not functioning as such? If not, what sort of error are you getting?
 

Cheyene

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
4
Thanks for replying How do turn on 'show hidden files'? I have clicked on all the files and the only one that will open is 'setup - Application' This downloads only some of the files that I need. I seeked the advice of technical that work for this site, they said I need to create a new user account as they thought my OS was unstable, or to reinstall Vista. All this is too scarry for me. any help would be appreciated.
 

fairnooks

Banned
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
5,251
Changing the state of hidden files doesn't have anything to do with whatever problem you have, just wether the files are visible or not. I think someone is giving you bad advice about reinstalling but I don't know what the problem might be because everything looks normal to me. If you downloaded this from some P2P site then the author could have intentionally left out critical parts for the installation and the lesson there would be never to trust such sites and you are lucky if you didn't receive a virus as a result.
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
What problem are you having? What you have there is a program. You install it by double-clicking on the setup.exe file. You don't need to be able to open the large CAB file. That gets read by the installation routine.
 

Cheyene

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
4
Thanks for everyones help. I went into computer programmes located the missing files and downloaded them that way.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top