1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solving this problem would be a Great Help!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Sharing- caring, Oct 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sharing- caring

    Sharing- caring Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    hi everyone
    i have a BELKIN WIRELESS G ROUTER - 2.4ghz-802.11g
    i was perfectly running fine but when i tried to put security in it
    its all messed up
    now i cannot access internet from laptop cuz it says ip conflict
    i cant acess internet opening both laptop and pc
    only 1 at a time because of the conflict

    the thing i want to do is go back to my Belkin web config page but now it doesnt let me
    THE PAGE CANNOT BE FOUND
    i think my default gateway is change itself


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\ReHaN>ipconfig

    Windows IP Configuration


    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain.invalid
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 58.106.129.195
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 198.142.128.14

    before , it was the default ip for belkin
    how do i get it back?

    i want it so i can go back to belkin web config page and set everything back to default
    i tried my new gateway witch say at the top but it say
    page cannot be found.....

    reply would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. kimsland

    kimsland

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,102
    Reset is done though the webinterface I think 192.168.0.3
    Also tun off g-only mode once there to see if that helps
    You should also disable Windows and personal firewall until finished (make sure of the Windows one)
     
  3. reezin14

    reezin14

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    You could try connecting directly to the router with a ethernet cable and login to the routers interface. Also if you reach it from there try resetting the router to factory setting. What security are you using ?
     
  4. kimsland

    kimsland

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,102
    I just re0read your post again.

    To change the IP address on your net card open Network connections in control panel.
    Right click on your connection - properties - TCPIP properties - then change your IP settings.

    The network cable hard wired is always a good idea too
     
  5. thehorace

    thehorace

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Try setting the belkin ips as static
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You appear to have the broadband modem connected to a LAN port on the router, not the WAN port. Let's start back at square one, and forget about the static IP address suggestion.

    We want to try to get the wired connections working again, then we'll tackle the wireless one.

    Reset the router to factory defaults by holding the reset button down for 15 seconds with power on.

    • Turn off everything, the modem, router, computer.
    • Connect the modem to the router's WAN/Internet port.
    • Connect the computer to one of the router's LAN/Network ports.
    • Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.
    • Turn on the router, wait for two minutes.
    • Boot the computer.

    When the computer is completely booted, let's see this.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/643557

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice