Some files could not be defragmented?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Pressing_on

Hello everybody,

I appreciate the help I've been getting here, and I have found the search function to be useful. However, I've come up short on this one. Any help would be appreciated.

Whenever I defragment my hard drive, at the end it always says, "Some files on this volume could not be defragmented."

My question is whether or not this is normal? I'm new to XP pro, and I'm not sure if the entire drive should end up defragmented, or do some files always remain fragmented?

One other question, if I may? Every few minutes it sounds like my computer is taking a snapshot (like with a camera). What is the cause of this? Thanks very much for the help.

God Bless,
David

Pressing_on

Here is a copy of the analyzed drive right after I run defrag:

Volume (C:)
Volume size = 27.91 GB
Cluster size = 4 KB
Used space = 7.35 GB
Free space = 20.56 GB
Percent free space = 73 %

Volume fragmentation
Total fragmentation = 0 %
File fragmentation = 0 %
Free space fragmentation = 0 %

File fragmentation
Total files = 32,256
Average file size = 255 KB
Total fragmented files = 1
Total excess fragments = 16
Average fragments per file = 1.00

Pagefile fragmentation
Pagefile size = 256 MB
Total fragments = 1

Folder fragmentation
Total folders = 1,834
Fragmented folders = 1
Excess folder fragments = 0

Master File Table (MFT) fragmentation
Total MFT size = 33 MB
MFT record count = 34,113
Percent MFT in use = 99 %
Total MFT fragments = 3

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Fragments File Size Files that cannot be defragmented
None

Thanks again for the help.

God Bless,
David

In reply to your first question:
You cannot defragment files that are in use.

In reply to your second question: