1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Some help me please with my AGP Slot

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by /\/\r.Abdul, Feb 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. /\/\r.Abdul

    /\/\r.Abdul Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    Intel Pentium 4 2.0a GHz
    256mb pc2100 ddr sd ram
    Windows XP Professional version 2002
    Intel extreme graphics card 64mb(Upgrading to GeForce FX 5200 128mb ddr with AGP 8x this weekend)

    Guys I need help urgently and fast. I want to know how to check my AGP slots speed before I get the GeForce. Is there a way to do that when there’s nothing in the slot?

    Some Please help me.
     
  2. Kerri Ann

    Kerri Ann

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    995
    what's your motherboard's model?
     
  3. A Hawk

    A Hawk

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    882
    It should tell you in the user manual for your mobo, and sometimes its on the carton that the mobo came in.
     
  4. /\/\r.Abdul

    /\/\r.Abdul Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    i bought this computer whole i dont know any of the components and stuff its a Hewlet packard 713a is there a way to check my mother board iwth opening the case i am really slack. does help that every onboard component is an intel the g-card the sound card processor. and sorry for the latness of my reply.
     
  5. /\/\r.Abdul

    /\/\r.Abdul Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    oh ive also checked the hp website to see if they have it and they dont have the mdel.
     
  6. A Hawk

    A Hawk

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    882
    Search through google for aida32 it will tell you what brand of components you have, I'm not sure whether it will tell you what breed your mobo is but its worth a try. Failing that you'll have to open the box and have a look.:)
     
  7. /\/\r.Abdul

    /\/\r.Abdul Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    thanks ill reply when i have checked it out thanks
     
  8. /\/\r.Abdul

    /\/\r.Abdul Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    Motherboard Properties
    Motherboard ID 08/12/2002-i845G-W627-6A69VM4VC-00
    Motherboard Name MSI 845GEM / 845GLMS / 845GVM / MS-6526G(L)

    Front Side Bus Properties
    Bus Type Intel NetBurst
    Bus Width 64-bit
    Real Clock 100 MHz (QDR)
    Effective Clock 400 MHz
    Bandwidth 3200 MB/s

    Memory Bus Properties
    Bus Type DDR SDRAM
    Bus Width 64-bit
    Real Clock 133 MHz (DDR)
    Effective Clock 267 MHz
    Bandwidth 2133 MB/s

    Chipset Bus Properties
    Bus Type Intel Hub Interface
    Bus Width 8-bit
    Real Clock 67 MHz (QDR)
    Effective Clock 267 MHz
    Bandwidth 267 MB/s

    Motherboard Physical Info
    CPU Sockets/Slots 1
    Expansion Slots 3 PCI
    RAM Slots 2 DIMM
    Integrated Devices Audio, Video
    Form Factor Micro ATX
    Motherboard Size 230 mm x 240 mm
    Motherboard Chipset i845G/GE/GL/GV

    Motherboard Manufacturer
    Company Name Micro-Star International
    Product Information http://www.msi.com.tw/program/products/mainboard/mbd/pro_mbd_list.php
    BIOS Download http://www.msi.com.tw/program/support/bios/bos/spt_bos_list.php



    is waht AIDIA32 gave me on my mother board i hope it helps u help me
     
  9. /\/\r.Abdul

    /\/\r.Abdul Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    comon hurry guys i need to know if it will work b4 i buy anything.
     
  10. A Hawk

    A Hawk

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    882
    I went to the msi site and they say that your board only supports x4 agp. So it looks like you'll need a x4 card.:(
     
  11. TheJoost

    TheJoost

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    110
    Yes,

    It will work fine! (y)



    Ciao for now,
    Joost :D
     
  12. TheJoost

    TheJoost

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    110
    Your board only supports up to 4X AGP but will not have a problem running whatever you decide to stick in it.



    Ciao,
    Joost :D
     
  13. /\/\r.Abdul

    /\/\r.Abdul Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    Sweet u guys are legends the geForce is compatible with 4x and 8x so thanks
     
  14. TheJoost

    TheJoost

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    110
    Enjoy your new card! :p


    Ciao,
    Joost:D
     
  15. A Hawk

    A Hawk

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    882
    Glad to be of help.:D
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/201254

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice