1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

some questions about ekrn.exe

Discussion in 'General Security' started by slavito007, Jul 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. slavito007

    slavito007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Hi all
    I haven't seen you for ages :) How are you
    However, I'm writing about a problem I'm having.
    For the past 2 weeks I've been using Eset Smart Security and I think I like this program. But there are a few things that bother me: the process "ekrn.exe" It just generates too much traffic :
    http://i35.tinypic.com/21ooaq8.jpg I asked about this in a forum in my country, but I don't think I'll get a response soon :/
    And about this traffic - is it dangerous? I know the program downloads some update signatures, but 800 mb in 6 hours is far too much. And it also sends information.
    I have another problem with this process - it sometimes takes up to 99% of the CPU and makes my PC freeze. And this is very annoying :(
    I want you to know that I'm not using cracked version of ESS, because in the other forum I was asked about this.

    Sorry for the long post.
    My English isn't very good and I want to apologize for that, too. :D
     
  2. MikeSwim07

    MikeSwim07

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4,629
    No, that isn't dangerous. It's part of Eset Nod process/kernel. It's safe but it takes a lot of ram.
     
  3. MikeSwim07

    MikeSwim07

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4,629
    If you want you should either,

    1. Buy more Ram
    2. Disable it
    3. Find a new Anti Virus
     
  4. slavito007

    slavito007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Well, I'm glad it isn't dangerous.
    I've been considering buying some more RAM and I'll probably change my central processor. too/
    Thanks for the reply :)
     
  5. MikeSwim07

    MikeSwim07

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4,629
    Your welcome.
     
  6. lifeisgood

    lifeisgood

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    I've got 4G of RAM, and even with nothing else running, ekrn.exe still hogs the system at unexplainable times. I found one posting where they suggested adjusting your settings to eliminate "application content" filtering - with no specific instructions on how to do that.

    Eset's documentation shows a tweak under NOD32 Control Center, Threat Protection Modules, but I have Smart Security and they have no such options. Under Smart Security filtering modes, it appears that if you eliminate the automatic filtering, you must define rules or policies. The automatic mode (default) works exactly the way I want it to, anyway, so it looks like it will just eat up cpu whenever it pleases.
     
  7. MikeSwim07

    MikeSwim07

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4,629
    yeah, If it were me, I would just disable that and manually update it once a day.
     
  8. ToXiCaTioN.d

    ToXiCaTioN.d

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    If you guys are talking about ERKN.exe using 100% CPU, or anything above 10%, constantly then you need to disable some things. If you're using the latest NOD32 (3.0) then you can do this.

    Getting NOD32 to Calm down on CPU
    1. Open up the NOD32 Window.
    2. Press F5.
    3. Find "Real-Time File System Protection"
    4. Under "Scan On" uncheck:
    i) File open
    ii) File creation
    iii) Diskette Access

    That should make NOD32 calm the heck down with it's CPU load. I'm not sure if you guys are having this problem, but it surely worked for me. If this doesn't fix it then uncheck everything under "Scan On." I was in contact with ESET for about a month trying to figure out what was wrong. Unfortunately, they had no idea on how to fix this.

    Good luck.


    EDIT:

    While in Support I was also instructed on how to do this, it never worked so don't bother. The above should.
     
  9. slavito007

    slavito007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks a lot. I think it worked because my CPU is really "calm" the last few days. Thanks again (;
     
  10. susaan

    susaan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    I just tried this Nod32 fix,but my ekrn is still running 35%...my post is under "Absolute beginner".....
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/729924