.. some sites work .. others don't .. ???

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

agent_c

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
27
.. hello helpful people ..

.. does anyone know why .. today .. all of a sudden ... some internet sites work .. and others don't .. ?

.. security settings haven't changed.

.. Yahoo! works ... Hotmail doesn't ... this site works .. other forums don't ..

.. internet temporary files are empty ... history is empty .. each site I try is not loaded from my machine.

.. I was thinking it has something to do with some sort of timeout setting .. sites that take longer to load .. won't load .. although I haven't changed any settings on my machine recently.

(I have tried installing MS Access 97 a few times .. with problems .. as per my ODBC problems post. .. but I doubt this had anything to do with the above problem.)

.. I have no clue .. why some sites work and others don't .. any suggestions o'helpful bunch of peeps .. ??

.. much appreciated.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2002
Messages
146
My first thought is that your ip address ends in either 0 or 255.

I do tech support for a major isp and this is an issue which I come across from time to time.

Are you dialup or adsl/cable?

If you're dialup I'd look at the hosts file to look for invalid entries.

If adsl/cable check your ip and see if ends in 0 or 255. If so try to release and renew your ip address. If the ip address comes back the same check with your isp to see if there's any thing they can do for you.

Hope this helps :)
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
It always helps to include a post of startups for problems like this. You can do it using the StartupList application from the site below; just unzip, run it and copy/paste the results to a reply.

http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/

One of the most common causes of some sites working but not others ("page cannot be displayed"), is the presence of a hosts file in windows. It is used by filtering software, web accelerators and others to associate Domain Names with IPs; when the IPs change you get a "page cannot be displayed" message.

Do a Find Files for hosts

The one you are looking for will not have an extension (not host.sam or lmhosts.sam) You can open it Notepad to see what's in it. It can be renamed ghosts and Windows will not use it. It is not used by default.

Also make sure in Internet Options > Connections > Settings that you are not connecting through a proxy. Look under the LAN settings as well if you are on broadband.
 

agent_c

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
27
.. thanks .. both of you .. I appreciate the help.

.. don't really know how or why, but the problem seems to have resolved itself (somewhere between trying to fix all my other problems and restarting 20 times).

- my hosts file is empty, save for my IP and our NY office.
- not going through proxy.
- IP address not ending in 0 or 255.


.. and I've never seen such a nice startup summary .. thanks.

.. here is mine .. just because. I would appreciate knowing what you think .. I'm sort of learning and am very interested ..

.. I don't really understand what the IBM client access is all about .. but I don't like it at all.

..

-=-=-=-

StartupList report, 1/14/03, 1:58:13 PM
StartupList version: 1.50
Started from : C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE
Detected: Windows 98 Gold (Win9x 4.10.1998)
Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
* Using default options
=============================================
Running processes:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\IBM\CLIENT ACCESS\CWBBS.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\IBM\CLIENT ACCESS\CWBNPRED.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NAVAPW32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\IBM\CLIENT ACCESS\CWBSVD.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\IBM\CLIENT ACCESS\CWBUITSK.EXE
C:\MOUSE\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPJETDSC.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLEDCC\GOOGLEDCC.EXE
C:\1-CHRIS_ALL\PROGRAMS\TRILLIAN\TRILLIAN.EXE
C:\1-CHRIS_ALL\PROGRAMS\EPROMPT\EPROMPTER.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\INTERNAT.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\1-CHRIS_ALL\PROGRAMS\ULTIMATEZIP\UZIP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE
--------------------------------------------------
Listing of startup folders:

Shell folders Startup:
[C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
Adobe Gamma Loader.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
ps2rate.lnk = C:\1-Chris_All\Programs\PS2plus\PS2Rate.EXE
--------------------------------------------------
Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

ScanRegistry = c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
Client Access Service = "C:\Program Files\IBM\Client Access\CwbSvStr.Exe"
Client Access Taskbar = "C:\Program Files\IBM\Client Access\cwbuitsk.exe"
Client Access API Daemon = "C:\Program Files\IBM\Client Access\cwbappcd.exe"
Client Access Help Update = "C:\Program Files\IBM\Client Access\cwbinhlp.exe"
Client Access Check Version = "C:\Program Files\IBM\Client Access\cwbckver.exe" LOGIN
Norton Auto-Protect = C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE /LOADQUIET
EM_EXEC = c:\MOUSE\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
LoadQM = loadqm.exe
--------------------------------------------------
Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
Client Access Start Incoming RC = ###C:\WINDOWS\command\start.exe /MINIMIZED C:\WINDOWS\cwbrxd.exe
Client Access Network Drive = C:\Program Files\IBM\Client Access\cwbbs.exe
Client Access Network Print = C:\Program Files\IBM\Client Access\cwbnpred.exe
--------------------------------------------------
Autorun entries from Registry:
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

HP JetDiscovery = HPJETDSC.EXE
GoogleDCClient = C:\Program Files\GoogleDCC\GoogleDCC.exe -startup
--------------------------------------------------
Enumerating Active Setup stub paths:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components
(* = disabled by HKCU twin)

[{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}] *
StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}

[PerUser_LinkBar_URLs] *
StubPath = c:\windows\COMMAND\sulfnbk.exe /L

[{44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}

[{44BBA851-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
StubPath = rundll32.exeadvpack.dll

[>IEPerUser] *
StubPath = RUNDLL32.EXE IEDKCS32.DLL,BrandIE4 SIGNUP

[{7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}] *
StubPath = "C:\PROGRA~1\OUTLOO~1\setup50.exe" /APP:WAB /CALLER:IE50 /user /install

[{9EF0045A-CDD9-438e-95E6-02B9AFEC8E11}] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\updcrl.exe -e -u C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\verisignpub1.crl
--------------------------------------------------
Load/Run keys from C:\WINDOWS\WIN.INI:

load=
run=
--------------------------------------------------
Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

Shell=Explorer.exe
SCRNSAVE.EXE=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SCIENCE.SCR
drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv
--------------------------------------------------
Checking for EXPLORER.EXE instances:

C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe: PRESENT!

C:\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\System\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\System32\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\Command\Explorer.exe: not present
--------------------------------------------------
C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
(Created 13/1/2003, 16:24:34)

[rename]
c:\windows\SYSTEM\dcom98\oldole\uninstall.exe=c:\windows\SYSTEM\dcom98\oldole\uninstall.001
c:\windows\SYSTEM\ole32.dll=c:\windows\SYSTEM\ole32.001
c:\windows\SYSTEM\rpcrt4.dll=c:\windows\SYSTEM\rpcrt4.001
--------------------------------------------------
C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

@PATH C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~1\OFFICE;C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~1;%PATH%
SET PATH=C:\PROGRA~1\IBM\CLIENT~1;C:\PROGRA~1\IBM\CLIENT~1\SHARED;C:\PROGRA~1\IBM\CLIENT~1\EMULATOR;%PATH%
@ECHO OFF
SET TZ=EST5EDT
SET TZ=EST5EDT
SET pgppath=.\pgp651
--------------------------------------------------
C:\WINDOWS\DOSSTART.BAT listing:

@echo off
REM
REM
c:\MOUSE\MOUSE.EXE
--------------------------------------------------
Checking for superhidden extensions:

.lnk: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.pif: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.exe: not hidden
.com: not hidden
.bat: not hidden
.hta: not hidden
.scr: not hidden
.shs: HIDDEN!
.shb: HIDDEN!
.vbs: not hidden
.vbe: not hidden
.wsh: not hidden
.scf: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: NO!)
.url: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.js: not hidden
.jse: not hidden
--------------------------------------------------
Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

Yahoo! Companion BHO - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\YCOMP5_0_2_4.DLL - {13F537F0-AF09-11d6-9029-0002B31F9E59}
(no name) - c:\windows\downloaded program files\googletoolbar_en_1.1.66-deleon.dll - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7}
--------------------------------------------------
Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

Tune-up Application Start.job
{D34F18B0-576E-11D0-B28C-00C04FD7CD22}_YYZ02.job
{8345DA3E-F87A-11D6-AE7F-005004D8C410}_yyz02.job
--------------------------------------------------
Enumerating Download Program Files:

[Shockwave Flash Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

[&Yahoo! Companion]
InProcServer32 = C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\YCOMP5_0_2_4.DLL
CODEBASE = http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/toolbar/yiebio4_0_2_10.cab

[CV3 Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WUV3IS.DLL
CODEBASE = http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/R1024/V31Controls/x86/w98/en/actsetup.cab

[OPUCatalog Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\OPUC.DLL
CODEBASE = http://office.microsoft.com/productupdates/content/opuc.cab

[Hotmail Attachments Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\HMATCHMT.OCX
CODEBASE = http://lw10fd.law10.hotmail.msn.com/activex/HMAtchmt.ocx

[{6CB5E471-C305-11D3-99A8-000086395495}]
CODEBASE = http://toolbar.google.com/data/en/deleon/1.1.58-deleon/GoogleNav.cab

[YInstStarter Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\YINSTHELPER.DLL
CODEBASE = http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst.cab

[CoGSManager Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\GSMANAGER.DLL
CODEBASE = http://gamingzone.ubisoft.com/packages/GSManager.cab

[QuickTime Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTPLUGIN.OCX
CODEBASE = http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab

[{41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C}]
CODEBASE = http://apple.speedera.net/qtinstall.info.apple.com/borris/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe

[Update Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37587.2887037037
--------------------------------------------------
End of report, 8,914 bytes
Report generated in 2.330 seconds
-=-=-=-


.. thanks again.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
I'm going to have to bug out for a while, but I'd say if you don't know what the IBM stuff is or how it got there, I'd remove any entries for it from Add/Remove. It may be what is conflicting with your attempts to install MS Access.

Hopefully you'll live to tell, but I can't guarantee it. :rolleyes:
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
What about this entry:

GoogleDCClient = C:\Program Files\GoogleDCC\GoogleDCC.exe -startup

I've never seen Google install that one before.

Would you mind taking a look at your C:\Program Files\GoogleDCC directory, and tell us what's in there.

Also rightclick GoogleDCC.exe, choose Properties, and please tell us what you find there.
 

IMM

Joined
Feb 1, 2002
Messages
3,257
Tony - it appears to be one of those distributed computing things I detest.
http://toolbar.google.com/dc/faq_dc.html

I have no experience with it (just found it in a search) - but I wonder if it isn't an LSP (also wonder if the IBM stuff is as well)? It would be interesting to know if encryption software is used by it, or if it installs a VPN, or uses IPSEC etc.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Thanks! :)

If I'm not mistaken, this version of Startuplist ought to list non-standard LSP files.

I know Hijack This does.

I don't think they would go to that length though.

However, first they start installing a completely unneccessary BHO (the Google toolbar works fine without it, and I've yanked it out of my Registry), next they configure it to auto-update behind your back, and now they install this folder as well.

You have to start feeling slightly uneasy...
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Ah, now I see: it's the "Google Compute Client" .

At least you can turn th feature off, should you so wish
 

agent_c

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
27
.. I don't mind the anything to do with Google or Yahoo!

.. Google compute only runs on "idle" time .. so it doesn't bother me at all .. anything my computer can do to halp map the human genome is okay with me.

.. I don't really know too much about Google's operation .. but I really like hte functionality of it all.


.. thanks for all the help.

-=-=-=-=-
.. does anyone want to try .this problem ? .. it's been buggin me for a week.
-=-=-=-=-

.. thanks again.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2003
Messages
29
Hey.........I was having a similar problem the the Yahoo "more" links coming up "page cannot be displayed".

I did have a "HOSTS" file. Looks like it might have installed with Kazaa. Anyway, I changed it to "GHOSTS", and all of my Yahoo links work now!!:)

It can probably just be deleted, eh?

This place is great!! Thanks!!!!!!!:D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top