1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Some web pages won't load on wireless connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ohjoy369, Aug 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ohjoy369

    ohjoy369 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    I have two websites that quit loading on my wireless connection using the laptop. all others appear to work. If I plug in the router to my ethernet card on the laptop the two pages work. These pages will not work in IE 6.0 (blank page or default search page loads) nor Firefox 2 (Connection timed out The server at www.westford.mec.edu is taking too long to respond.)

    I don't understand what is going on. I flushed the DNS cache but that didn't work. When I ping the site i get a response

    C:\Documents and Settings\Dad>ping http://www.westford.mec.edu

    Pinging http://www.westford.mec.edu [208.69.32.137] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 208.69.32.137: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=56
    Reply from 208.69.32.137: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=56
    Reply from 208.69.32.137: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=56
    Reply from 208.69.32.137: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=56

    Ping statistics for 208.69.32.137:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 34ms, Maximum = 39ms, Average = 36ms

    Here is my IP information
    C:\Documents and Settings\Dad>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Laptop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-C5-59-2A-C3

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-18-F3-86-2D-9D
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.4
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 208.67.222.222
    208.67.220.220
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, August 27, 2007 6:35:06 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 18, 2038 11:14:07 PM

    I did a pathping and it appears that I lost some packets at the end
    C:\Documents and Settings\Dad>pathping www.google.com

    Tracing route to google.navigation.opendns.com [208.67.217.230]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    0 Laptop [192.168.2.4]
    1 192.168.2.1
    2 10.9.97.1
    3 at-1-1-1-1717.CORE-RTR2.BOS.verizon-gni.net [130.81.9.237]
    4 so-7-0-0-0.CORE-RTR1.BOS.verizon-gni.net [130.81.18.186]
    5 so-0-2-0-0.BB-RTR1.BOS.verizon-gni.net [130.81.20.84]
    6 so-6-2-0-0.BB-RTR2.NY325.verizon-gni.net [130.81.19.70]
    7 so-7-0-0-0.PEER-RTR1.NY111.verizon-gni.net [130.81.17.131]
    8 130.81.15.138
    9 * * *
    Computing statistics for 225 seconds...
    Source to Here This Node/Link
    Hop RTT Lost/Sent = Pct Lost/Sent = Pct Address
    0 Laptop [192.168.2.4]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    1 2ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% 192.168.2.1
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    2 19ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% 10.9.97.1
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    3 23ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% at-1-1-1-1717.CORE-RTR2.BOS.verizon-gni.net [130.81.9.237]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    4 21ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% so-7-0-0-0.CORE-RTR1.BOS.verizon-gni.net [130.81.18.186]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    5 23ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% so-0-2-0-0.BB-RTR1.BOS.verizon-gni.net [130.81.20.84]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    6 32ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% so-6-2-0-0.BB-RTR2.NY325.verizon-gni.net [130.81.19.70]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    7 36ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% so-7-0-0-0.PEER-RTR1.NY111.verizon-gni.net [130.81.17.131]
    100/ 100 =100% |
    8 --- 100/ 100 =100% 0/ 100 = 0% 130.81.15.138
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    9 --- 100/ 100 =100% 0/ 100 = 0% Laptop [0.0.0.0]

    Trace complete.

    Lets see if you can end up marking this one as solved ;)
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,555
    Actually, the way it works you (the thread originator) can mark 'solved' using the Thread Tools at the upper right, but we cannot. :)

    Possibly a flaky adapter; probably a flaky router.

    Suggest you reset the router to factory default settings and then reconfigure it.

    Make sure you have the latest driver for the wireless adapter; uninstall the adapter and reinstall it.
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Well, I can mark it solved. ;)

    I'm guessing it's not solved yet, right?

    I think Terry is on the right track, I can't imagine what is going on here.

    If you can find some other wireless machine (a friend with a laptop perhaps?), you could see if it's the wireless section of the router, or something in your machine.
     
  4. ohjoy369

    ohjoy369 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    I download the new drivers for the adaptor card, and rest the router to the factory defaults. Now I am having a little difficulity connecting to the router. I hate working on computers at night :confused: , it's been awhile since I set up this router. Probably has something to do with the security that I enabled.

    this morning I connected to my neighbors wireless and was able to connect to those two web pages. So it appears that Terry is on the right track - flaky router. When I get home tonight I'll remove the security on the router and try again.
     
  5. ohjoy369

    ohjoy369 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Wireless is working. the one site now loads but the other wont. frustrating. guess i can live with it unless there are more suggestions.
     
  6. an_innocent_raj

    an_innocent_raj

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Check the firmware of the router .... Upgrade the firmware if it is not the latest One

    Also Disable the firewall on the router if you have any :)

    I think firmware Upgradation will solve your problem
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Actually, disabling some of the firewall components of the router are more likely to fix this issue. If the SPI feature is faulty, it can result in certain sites stalling. Hard to imagine any firmware got out the door that will restrict certain sites.
     
  8. ohjoy369

    ohjoy369 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Firmware is up to date, I check that a few days ago. I'll try disabling the firewall on the router, but I'm confused because the pages load when I am plugged in, just won't load for the wireless, unless it is timing out.
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Hard to say, it seems like it's something in the wireless section. It's certainly an odd issue...

    BTW, did you reset to factory defaults and reconfigure?
     
  10. ex0lted

    ex0lted

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    I don't believe it's hardware related.

    You are using Open DNS settings and I've found them to flake every now and again.

    Have you tried your ISP's default DNS settings (or for that matter, your neighbors :) ) to see if that is the issue?
     
  11. ohjoy369

    ohjoy369 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Yes I reset to factory defaults, reconfigured, and disabled the firewall on the router. The web page will not load. I was using open dns but since I reset to factory defaults I did not apply open dns. so I am automatically getting it from the ISP (Verizon - DSL). My neighbor uses Verizon also and I am able to connect through their wireless router. The web page that will not load is www.schoolnotes.com Normally not connecting would not bother me so much except this site has my kids homework listed on it and I can make sure that they bring the books home. Would the mtu setting have anything to do with it?
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    It's a long shot, but you can try reducing it. Try 1492 as a start.
     
  13. ohjoy369

    ohjoy369 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    I just got done changing it - according to verizon their dsl network requires 1492 and it didn't help
     
  14. ohjoy369

    ohjoy369 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    it is something in my wireless router. Just connected to another one of my neighbors (I don't know about these people who don't secure their network :) ) and the site loads fine. New router maybe for access to one site, probably not.
     
  15. ex0lted

    ex0lted

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Before you manually play around with the MTU's in the registry, start by pinging with www.schoolnotes.com with a MTU of 1492 to see if you are dropping any packets.

    ie: ping www.schoolnotes.com -l 1492

    Proceed to lower the MTU's until you stop dropping packets by an increment of 10 or so. (drop the 1492 in the ping to 1482, 1472, 1462 etc.)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/616146