1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Someone has to answer? I have 4 stripped fan screws on my chassis fan?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Kenster102.5, Oct 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kenster102.5

Kenster102.5 Thread Starter

I have a Coolermaster 120mm UV LED Fan, and it came with these wide screws but, the fan itself doesn't have threaded holes they were just smooth, so you really had the press hard and turn hard to get them in properly, so inevitably I stripped all four of them. I was thinking about getting a new fan, since these aren't very powerful fans either. I am willing to buy a Grab-it removal kit for my screws, but I am worried about metal shavings from using the filing bit that comes with the kit. I can remove my motherboard tray, but I am still worried about metal shavings, what precautions should I take?

I am also think about breaking the holes with a screw driver so then I don't need to worry about metal shavings, but it doesn't seem that practical.
    Have a nice day
    Ken

2. crjdriver

crjdriver Moderator

All case fans that I have ever seen come that way. The screws are self-tapping. From what I can ascertain, you now have rounded off the heads of the screws. Is that correct?

3. maxibhoy

maxibhoy

The size of the holes and scews for all the 120mm case fans are the same Ken. Just screw them in mate. They can feel tight sometimes but no metal shavings will be necessary. Max

4. win2kpro

win2kpro

From what you are describing I take it you are going to drill the screws, and then use something like an "easy-out" to insert in the hole you drill to back the screw out.