Something Wrong With My Mpegs

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

CodeShark

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
233
Hi, I just bought this brand new digital camera and it records film clips. They save as mpg format and I upload the to my computer to watch them. I can see the perfectly fine only for this one problem. You know how each clip has like a time/duration clock on the bottom right hand of windows media player? Well say I recorded a 30 second clip, when I watch it in windows media player, or actually any player for that matter, the clock stops at like 5 seconds. Or sometimes it'll stop at ten seconds, but it'll stop at a different time with each clip. The reason I want to fix this is because I don't know how long the actual clip is. It'll stop at an early time and the film and audio will still play since its actually longer than what the time says. WHen I try to edit these clips, windows movie maker only allows me to edit the length that goes by the clock so I can only edit about the time that shows on the clip. The rest of the clip doesn't play like it normally does in a video player. Can anyone help? Or do I need to post more information about my problem, if so, then what else Do I need to add?
 
Joined
May 16, 2003
Messages
4,092
A couple of long shots here:

Has the clock on the camera been set,
Does this happen on all resolution settings,
 

CodeShark

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
233
Ok I have a Sony Cybershot 5.0 Megapixel Camera Model No. DSC P10. And yes the clock has been set, and I don't know about the resolution settings, but do you understand the sort of problem I'm having? Its just that I can't work with the clips my camera makes. Its a brand new camera. I can view the whole thing, but when I see the time on the side like in windows media player, (You know the time that says the duration of the clip?) Well say I have like a 1 minute clip, the clock will stop moving at 5 seconds and the meter will look like the movie is complete, but then the film still plays cuz its actually a minute long. WHen I try to edit the clip in say..windows movie maker, I paste the clip into the storyboard but when I play it back it only plays 5 seconds of the clip....
 
Joined
May 16, 2003
Messages
4,092
I have a sony myself that takes mpegs but I don't know what the problem could be but it might be worth taking a clip using each of the resolution settings just as a process of elimination.
 
Joined
May 16, 2003
Messages
4,092
To find out if the problem is camera or computer try downloading an mpeg file off the net or one created with a different camera and see if the same problem still exists.
 

CodeShark

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
233
I downloaded other mpegs and they seem to work fine. THe clips play in their entirety and the clock reads them accurately. As for another camera, I used my AIPTEK cam and it made avi clips and they worked fine as well. I tried switching the resolution on my Sony, but I still get the same problem, the clock doesn't read it accurately, it stops early and the clip plays on and I'm still unable to edit it.
 
Joined
May 16, 2003
Messages
4,092
Only a guess, but it sounds like some sort of corruption in the timing layer of the mpg file (if I can call it that). Being a new camera I think going back to your supplier and at least trying a new camera would be a good idea.

I wonder if it is possible the memory stick is faulty. Maybe give it a format.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2003
Messages
1,062
When you insert the clip into MM2 make sure you import video.
If, by mistake you insert a clip as a picture it only displays for 5 seconds which is the MM2 default setting for slideshow pictures.
:)
 

CodeShark

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
233
Hmm Ok, I've reformatted my memory stick, same thing still happens, but I found out some new information. I sent my video clip to my friend and the clock doesn't stop for him, so its gotta be something with my computer. Does anyone else have any other ideas about what I could test? And Kath, I've imported the video, but even prior to that, it still plays the whole clip but it only shows like 5 seconds in the clock.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top