Sort (from largest to smallest) changes formula in Excel

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Dugaet

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
3
Hi all,

I have a worksheet with lots of data's and formulas. For a couple of days now, when I try to sort any column from largest to smallest or vice-versa, there is a kind of bug just after as any cell containing a formula is changing.

For instance, if in C2 it was A2 + B2 before I sorted, it is then A2 + B464, which makes no sense !

If you have any idea on how I could fix that, it would be really great !
If you need more info, just let me now.

Thanks all in advance for your support !
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
a sample of the spreadsheet -with dummy data attached would help
how are you sorting ?
selecting all columns A, B, C
is the formula recognised as a formula and not being entered as text ?

what version of excel
 

Dugaet

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
3
Hi,

Thanks already for your quick reply. I can not post part of the spreadsheet as it is confidential.

Actually I have added filters on all columns and then I select on column that I want to sort...for example the clients codes but then in the column let's say BW, the foumla changes.

I used excel 2007. The format of the cell is "number".

Would you need more info?
Thanks
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
do you expand the selection or just sort the one column ? - although with a formula - that should be OK

can you make a smaller dummy data sample spreadsheet up and see if that has the same issue , if so post here

or others will probably reply soon - as i dont see what is going wrong
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
please do not start new threads on this subject- just reply here to provide any updates
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2012
Messages
455
Make sure there is no gap in you table.
If gap is unavoidable, then select the whole table before any sorting is done.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top