Sound Card Problem...BIG Time

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mixx941

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
742
Hello everybody. Last night I was doing a HUGE event on my 2 internet radio stations welcoming my 2nd and newest station, and it was simulcast on both stations.

I had another DJ from somewhere else in the world broadcasting which was linked to my main mixing console from another computer I use only for that purpose.

Then the output of my mixing console goes into the Line Input of the computer that runs special DJ software with my Sound Blaster Augidy 2 Platinum card.

This method has worked for me for years, but ever since I got my Augidy 2 Platinum, wierd things have been happening whenever I try to broadcast.

1) I notice if I have yahoo messenger open when I open up the DJ software, the line input signal is totally choppy and unrecognizable. Then sometimes it sounds like a chipmunk with a very elevated pitch.

So, back to me explaining the issue. Last night I left the stream on my brand new station because the DJ wanted to go all night. It was all going well for the 30-45 minutes I was relaxing to a little television/reading, but then this morning when I head into the studio I hear dead air. I assume he disconnected his server and I lost his feed, which happened....but what also happened was the real fast tempo/pitch thing that this Audigy 2 Platinum does.

I try to put on a record to fill some space, and all I hear when monitoring the LIVE AIR feed (from the line out on the computer) is the fast, chipmunk sounding version of what I was playing...no pitch settings were incorrect because it was 100% locked on my turntables.

So, my question here is if anyone has any ideas why all this is happening with my SB Audigy 2 Platinum? I know installing it was a real pain in the neck, took many calls to Creative, and then they finally said install DirectX9, but that was BETA then (I think).

My DirectX Version is: 9.0. If I think of anything else, I'll edit it in because i'm not totally awake yet. :D

-Mark
 

mixx941

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
742
I was thinking of that, but what if I have a whole bunch of other problems? Is there a way to revert back?

Would System Restore in XP do it?

-Mark
 

mixx941

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
742
I updated to DX 9 and so far no problems...but the problem is still there.

I hear the real fast speed whenever yahoo is open and I'm set to broadcast from the line input!

Any other thoughts?

-Mark
 

mixx941

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
742
Hey everybody. Here is the latest problem.

I left the remote DJ on last night coming from my sound card's line input into the program and nothing else was running, and I come here this morning and everything was really sped up like 10 times. I got on the mic and my voice was sped up just like the rest of the line input.

So, I guess the Direct X upgrade didnt work.

Any other ideas?

-Mark
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2002
Messages
281
Mark- Just a guess.

Do you have a VIA chipset on your motherboard? If you do, go to the VIA website and download and install the latest 4 in 1 drivers. I know that some people have problems with the VIA...Creative combination.
 

mixx941

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
742
Yes, I do have a VIA chipset. I have heard about these types of problems in the past, but I thought I updated back when I first started having problems with my card when I got it.

I will go update the 4 in 1 drivers now...

The VIA website says this:

Users with hybrid chipsets (with a VIA southbridge and AMD northbridge for example) should obtain drivers from their motherboard manufacturer.
Since I'm using a GIGABYTE GA-7DXR+ motherboard, which has a VIA southbridge and AMD northbridge, I guess I'll update from GIGABYTE's website?

Here is GigaBytes page for my mobo drivers:

http://www.giga-byte.com/Motherboard/Support/Driver/Driver_GA-7DXR+.htm

I would assume you are referring to the top "Chipset Driver" but it doesn't say WinXP in there anywhere...just 95/98/ME/NT/2000. They dont list a version or date or OS for the chipset driver :rolleyes:

-Mark
 

mixx941

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
742
Well, I ended up updating my SOund Blaster AUdigy 2 Drivers and it didnt solve the issue. But now, a week later when I try to burn a CD using Nero it freezes up EVERYTIME i click "Write CD".

I did make a system restore point before I updated the drivers, but if I restore to that will all the files I have modified/created in the past week be gone?

-Mark
 

mixx941

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
742
Just so people know exactly what I am talking about, I cought it doing it tonight when just playing mp3s off my computer...not even the line input!

I recorded it and made a RealMedia file out of it.

You can listen to it here in Real Streaming Audio.

-Mark
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top