1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Sound card problems: Realtek AC'97

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by nh82, Mar 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nh82

    nh82 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Am very confused by my soundcard - I can always hear system sounds, but sometimes when I boot up I can hear other sounds (eg mp3s in itunes or media player) and sometimes I can't.

    I've reinstalled the drivers, the problem still occurs apparently randomly. It never cuts out or restarts EXCEPT when I boot up when there seems to be about a 30% chance it'll work!

    Looking around various forums, I've found some guy with a similar problem, I'll write up his account here as it's basically the same as mine:

    Occasionally on bootup I get:
    Generic Host Process for Win32 Services has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

    and I look at the data the report contains.It says:

    Error signature

    szAppName : szAppVer : 0.0.0.0 szModName : unknown
    szModVer : 0.0.0.0 offset : 00000000

    Then I look at the technical info of the error which is:

    Error Report Contents

    C:\DOCUME~1\BOA\LOCALS~1\Temp\WERE.tmp.dir00\svchost.exe.mdmp
    C:\DOCUME~1\BOA\LOCALS~1\Temp\WERE.tmp.dir00\appcompat.txt


    Some of my numbers there are different to his, but the gist is the same.

    Also:

    Also this is the error code when I try to open a movie with media player

    Cannot play back the audio stream: no audio hardware is available. (Error=00040258)

    Also this is what it says for the Realtek AC'97 Audio on the mmc device manager

    This device is working properly.

    Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
    driver date 01.12.2004
    driver version 5.10.0.5760


    My driver version is actually 5.10.0.5770, just copying this guy's post because it's so relevant!

    Any ideas??
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Have a look at this thread for a similar issue:

    http://forums.techguy.org:80/t334644

    Are you getting this error in XP SP2?

    And are you having problems with the "sheild" icon in the System Tray?
     
  3. nh82

    nh82 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Just reading that thread now.

    Not noticed any problems with the shield, but this is SP2. It's on a brand new laptop (Acer Aspire 1670 bought straight from Acer) so the fact there's a problem at all is very annoying!
     
  4. nh82

    nh82 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Sorry to double post, have read that thread and am not sure what applies to me.

    This is definitely the same problem though - the occasionally working/occasionally not when rebooting is very irritating!

    Did anyone come up with a definitive solution?
     
  5. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Well since it is SP2 and "generic host process" is svchost.exe, in that thread I looked for some common denominator.

    It appeared to me that Windows Update, or a component of it was involved in the problem.

    Tommy Twosom seemed to have resolved it by going to Windows Update and making sure all updates were fully downloaded and installed.

    I don't think he followed my suggestion to disable the BITS service if it was running, but if all Updates are installed and the problem persists, I would, for test purposes, disable Windows Update, disable the Security Center, and disable the BITS service.

    But first let's see if we can find BITS running on your configuration.

    If you don't have XP pro, go here and download Tasklist.exe to the system32 directory:

    http://www.computerhope.com/download/winxp.htm

    Once it is there, go to Start > Run, enter cmd and a command shell will open.

    At the prompt type and enter:

    tasklist /svc /fi "imagename eq svchost.exe"

    Right click on the command window and select "mark", then left click and drag the highlight over the displayed text to "select" it. Then hit enter.

    You can then right click on a reply window here and select "paste" to copy it over.

    You should end up with something like this:

    svchost.exe 724 DcomLaunch, TermService
    svchost.exe 812 RpcSs
    svchost.exe 848 AudioSrv, CryptSvc, Dhcp, EventSystem,
    helpsvc, lanmanserver, lanmanworkstation,
    Netman, Nla, RasAuto, RasMan, Schedule,
    seclogon, SENS, SharedAccess,
    ShellHWDetection, srservice, TapiSrv,
    Themes, TrkWks, w32time, winmgmt, wscsvc,
    WZCSVC
    svchost.exe 904 Dnscache
    svchost.exe 936 LmHosts, WebClient
     
  6. nh82

    nh82 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks very much, have downloaded all updates and disabled BITS already - since then my last two reboots have worked ok, but haven't tested it thoroughly so for all I know next time it'll be dodgy again.

    Anyway, here's the output from tasklist:

    SVCHOST.EXE 1048 DcomLaunch, TermService
    SVCHOST.EXE 1108 RpcSs
    SVCHOST.EXE 1148 AudioSrv, Browser, CryptSvc, Dhcp, ERSvc,
    EventSystem, FastUserSwitchingCompatibility,
    helpsvc, HidServ, Iprip, Irmon,
    lanmanserver, lanmanworkstation, Netman,
    Nla, RasMan, Schedule, seclogon, SENS,
    SharedAccess, ShellHWDetection, srservice,
    TapiSrv, Themes, TrkWks, W32Time, winmgmt,
    wscsvc, wuauserv, WZCSVC
    SVCHOST.EXE 1256 Dnscache
    SVCHOST.EXE 1288 LmHosts, SSDPSRV, WebClient
     
  7. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Knock on wood then! I'm certainly interested in learning if those "features" are a cause of the problem here, so keep us informed. It's definitely an undocumented problem with SP2 if it is.
     
  8. nh82

    nh82 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Well, so far so good, but I've only rebooted once - will come back in a few days if it's still working and let you know!

    If I'm back before then, then we've got the wrong solution.

    Thanks for all your help anyway!
     
  9. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Hope not to see you until then. If it does happen, and you still have Windows Update enabled, it could still be that or the "Security Center". But we'll rule out BITS one way or another.
     
  10. nh82

    nh82 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Well, I have to confess I'm upset!

    The very next reboot and it's not working again - the same "Generic Host" error, and this time my wireless network is also not working.

    The time after that the network is fine, but the sound didn't work.

    And this time the network is fine but the sound is still suffering from the same old problem.

    I've been vaguely wondering this whole time if the network is a factor. I'm connecting to a router via a built-in wireless network, and there have been occasional connection issues with that too.

    No idea where to start looking though! Back to the drawing board...
     
  11. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    It could be but you will have to bypass the router to test that. Have you also tried disabling "automatic updates"?
     
  12. manhthi

    manhthi

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Hi Rollin,

    I've seen all the instruction you posted for the problem with Win XP, I also meet the same problem but quite different behave.

    I am using Window XP SP1, sometime the message shows with Generic Process Host ..., and then I click 'not send'.

    The problem is the Task-Manager doesn't work when want to open it (right click on task bar). It seems that it appear and then disappear right away. This problem also happens to other programs when I want to open, when I double click on the program Icon on Desktop, it open for half second and then disappear at once (these programs are old version, or DOS program).

    Could you please show me the way to solve this problem! If it is possible, can you send your reply direct to my email address:

    Thanks and best regards,
    Thi.
     
  13. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    manhthi, you have a different problem, a "security" one.

    Post a NEW thread for it in the Security forum, following these instructions:

    Download and install HijackThis using the "self extractor". Run it and select "do a system scan and save the log file". Then copy/paste the contents of the log to a reply

    http://www.thespykiller.co.uk/files/hijackthis_sfx.exe


    PS: I've removed your email address, first none here will provide help that way, and second it is a VERY bad idea to publish these in open forums -- it will be picked up by spammers.
     
  14. manhthi

    manhthi

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for your quick reply, and I am a new here, sorry for mistake.

    As I said, the problem happens even with opening program. So I could not open the HijackThis_sfx.exe after download. When I double click to that file, a warning Box open and then disappear right away. What's wrong!?

    Could you please tell me the solution!

    Thanks,
    Thi.
     
  15. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    From our Security Help Tools page, see if you can run one or more of the Online virus scans. Also see if you can install, update, and run Ad-Aware.

    http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?s=&postid=663486

    For HijackThis, try this direct download, if you still receive an error message, begin a new topic in Security anyway, and report exactly what warnings or error messages you are receiving.

    http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/files/HijackThis.exe

    If you have no antivirus program, try to install the free version of AVG, update and run it as well.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/340992