Sound Connections setting up my PC

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

AD1965

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2005
Messages
7
Can I ask an extemely simplistic question. At the back of my processor how do I connect up my sound ( I have green connectors but unsure what goes where). My flatscreen has built in speakers but I'm not sure how to achieve sound....

I had sound but then I went and moved house and am scratching my head as to how to achieve this basic feature..

Advise for a technophobe or a link to a beginners site (I've looked honest) greatly appreciated ..
 

AD1965

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2005
Messages
7
norton850 said:
How many plugs do you have that come from the monitor and are they colored?
Hi Norton I have a lead with green connections is that what you mean? ! I have another small black lead but unsure whether this is needed.... I know this should be obvious but I've tried all the permutations I can think of but it's just not interested.. Mute is not on I've checked.

Thanks
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
Most sound imputs on the sound card (back of processor) are often color coded also. So if you've done green to green or definitely plugged it into the speaker jack then there is another problem. Does the black jack look the same as the green one? What is the make and model of the monitor?
 

AD1965

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2005
Messages
7
Eureka it's working not quite sure how or why or if there may be an intermittent problem. Thankyou for taking the time to post some advise in the meantime... Fingers crossed it continues to work...
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
Fingers crossed.

Problems that have been solved have the "Solved:" text in front of the title so that other users can easily see that a solution exists in that thread. With the exception of Moderators, only the user who started the thread may mark it solved. To do so, choose "Thread Tools" just above the first post of the thread. Then, choose "Mark Thread Solved."
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top