sound problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sasmit1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
6
Help!
I recently purchased a computer without an operating system. I installed windows 98. The sound is integrated with the motherboard. When windows starts the sound works for about 2 seconds and then quits. I looked in my device manager and there are no apparent conflicts. The driver for the sound is there, but it says it's working properly. I'm wondering if it's a problem in the ini file, but I wouldn't know what to change. Any ideas?
Also if I can't get it working I was going to install my sound card from my other computer. Do I need to delete the other sound drivers or will the new board just override the integrated sound?
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya and Welcome

Are you saying that the sound is onboard or a card? Do you know the name of your Motherboard?

We can try the simple stuff first. Have you got a little speaker icon near your clock? If you do, is it muted? Also, if its there, rightclick on it and choose Open Volume Controls. Options | Properties. Click all the boxes, and then see if any are muted.

If its not there, have a look in Control Panel | Sounds. Under the Sound tab, is Show Volume Control On the Taskbar ticked. If not, tick it.

I know this one sounds a bit...er...but it may be. Is your speakers fully pushed in at the back of your PC?

Regards

eddie
 

sasmit1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
6
Yeah, I already checked the duh things. Like I said it works fine for about 2 seconds of the windows start sound and then quits. the sound is onboard. My motherboard is Socket A M810 series.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

Is this yours? http://www.pcchips.com.tw/M810LMR.html

If you go to Control Panel | System. Device manager. under Sound, look for your sound.

I think this is it:

Provides an AMR slot; DirectSound AC97 Codec on board, for Audio and Modem applications

but you may have to confirm. Mine, which is onboard, says:

AC'97 Driver for Intel(r) 82801AA Controller

This may need the driver upgrading. Also, whilst you're there, is there any yellow !

Regards

eddie
 

sasmit1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
6
Hi Eddie,
Thanks for taking the time to help. There are no yellow !. Here is a list of everything under the sound, game controller section in their order of appearance.
gameport joystick
logitech wingman force 3d usb
logitech wingman force 3d usb (hid)
mpu-401 compatible
nabts/fecvbi codec
sis audio legacy emulator
sis pci audio audio accelerator
wave device for voice modem
wave top (tm) nabts/ccvbi codec

There is no mention of what you mentioned. The sis audio legacy emulator is supposedly the sound driver I think. Any ideas?

Thanks,
Scott
 

sasmit1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
6
Hey Eddie,
I just looked at the web sight you mentioned. That is my motherboard. Under the drivers section was a list of different sound drivers. Would I be able to try any of those, if so how would I do that.
Scott
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

Which driver were you looking at? The only one for the 810LR seems to be a modem. Thats just a general search and find.

Now, looking back at your replies, you said

sis pci audio audio accelerator

There seems to be SIS drivers that you can download. Just need the right one.
Are you certain you cannot find anything that says AC97 Codec? Open up the ol' PC. Just had a thought.
Look on the diagram in the site that I found. Its gonna be fun doing this from here :p

There are 2 white slots, on the left. On the right of these is another slot, smaller and dark. Is there anything in this slot?

eddie
 

sasmit1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
6
hi Eddie,
I figured out what I did. I just reformatted c, then reinstalled everything. When I loaded the driver software there was a prompt asking for correct os path, I didn't understand what they were asking for and I just clicked cancel and it seemed to proceed with loading all the drivers. It showed them loading and everything. But this time I noticed it had a drop down arrow, I clicked that and it had D:\windows 98 setup, or something like that. I clicked that and proceeded with the install and now the sound works fine.
Thanks for all your efforts,
Scott
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Thats okay, glad its working anyway.

See ya

eddie
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top