1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Sound Problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by djswizz, Dec 3, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. djswizz

    djswizz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    24
    OK first, I will tell you what I have on my system:

    1.2 Ghz AMD, 512 MB RAM, 40 GIG HD, Win98SE, GeForce MX200 Video, SoundBlaster Live Value! Sound.

    Ok I just got a cable modem about a week and a half ago and I've been d/ling music alot. The thing is when I play any type of music, the music gets all choppy and it stutters and stuff when I move i.e. the scroll bar in my browser, or opening another program while I am playing the music. It's like my PC is too slow or something but that cannot be. I built this computer. Let me know what I can do guys.

    Thanks!
     
  2. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    Do you see any conflicts in Device Manager?
    Can you list your IRQs?
     
  3. djswizz

    djswizz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    24
    I dont see any IRQ conflicts in the device mngr.

    How do you find what is on each IRQ? I forgot
     
  4. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    Easiest way for copying here:
    Start>Run, type 'msinfo32', [Enter]
    Expand Hardware Resources, then choose IRQs. Copy and paste back here.
     
  5. djswizz

    djswizz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    24
    0 System timer
    1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
    2 Programmable interrupt controller
    3 (free)
    4 Communications Port (COM1)
    5 Creative SB Live! Value (WDM)
    5 HSP56 MR
    5 SiS 900 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter
    5 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller
    7 Printer Port (LPT1)
    8 System CMOS/real time clock
    9 (free)
    10 MPU-401 Compatible
    11 SiS 7018 Audio Driver
    11 SiS 7001 PCI to USB Open Host Controller
    11 SiS 7001 PCI to USB Open Host Controller
    11 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    11 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    12 NVIDIA GeForce2 MX 100/200
    12 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    13 Numeric data processor
    14 Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)
    14 SiS 5513 Dual PCI IDE Controller
    15 Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo)
    15 SiS 5513 Dual PCI IDE Controller
     
  6. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    Looks like your sound card and ethernet adaptor are both using 5 which would explain why you're having the prob since moving to cable modem. Can you change either of these? Or Remove one and have Windows redetect it?
     
  7. djswizz

    djswizz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    24
    How would I change them? I've never dealt with IRQ's and setting them up and changing/assigning them.

    Tyler
     
  8. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    Rather than trying to manually change it, why don't you just remove SB from Device Manager, reboot and see what happens. Hopefully it'll grab one of your free ones.
    Otherwise, you can see if it will let you change it by viewing the Resources tab for that component in Device Manager.
     
  9. djswizz

    djswizz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    24
    OK, but if I reboot and everything but that does not work, what IRQ should I assign the SB card?
     
  10. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    That should work but if not, try 3 or 9.
     
  11. djswizz

    djswizz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    24
    OK thank you SOOO much... I will reboot and come back on this message board and tell you the status... thanks!
     
  12. djswizz

    djswizz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    24
    OK the IRQ on Sound Blaster did not change... It is still at IRQ 5. I tried to change it in the device mngr but it said "this resource setting cannot be modified" What do I do now?
     
  13. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    Try doing the same thing with the network card.
     
  14. djswizz

    djswizz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    24
    The same thing happened with the network card. I cannot change it in device mngr either.... Now what? :(
     
  15. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    And you actually removed them from Device Manager before rebooting? Hmmm...
    I'm gonna try and grab someone to help.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60538

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice