1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

soundcard problem?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by beckri, Jan 22, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. beckri

    beckri Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    199
    Bear with me... I'm not real familiar with the computer's inner workings.
    I installed a Philips Seismic Edge PSC705 soundcard in my hp pavilion about a month ago and have been without sound since. I emailed Philips help center and received no response. I emailed hp's help center and they gave me directions on what to do-uninstall and remove it and go back to the onboard sound to see if that still works. So I removed the Philips card and still there's no sound. I did a search here last night and couldn't find a situation close enough to mine or with directions I could understand clearly...:confused: Please help! I have 2 children that are being homeschooled and tons of software that they haven't been able to use... Thanks!
     
  2. spaceman_333

    spaceman_333

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Messages:
    968
    Hello beckri and WELCOME!!

    I would go into the BIOS, disable the onboard sound, and install the Philips sound card.

    Good luck,

    spaceman
     
  3. beckri

    beckri Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    199
    How do you go into BIOS? Is that when the screen's black when I first start the computer up and can press F1 or F2 or something like that? Can I do it with the Philips card still in there?
     
  4. spaceman_333

    spaceman_333

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Messages:
    968
    Yes---to both.

    SM
     
  5. beckri

    beckri Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    199
    Thanks! I shall give it a try.
     
  6. beckri

    beckri Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    199
    Well I tried and... I'm back. I didn't have the option of F1 or F2 like I thought I did. Is there some other way to get to the BIOS screen?
     
  7. Flrman1

    Flrman1

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    46,329
    Try pressing Delete as it is booting.
     
  8. beckri

    beckri Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    199
    I read that in another thread on here and it didn't work either.

    OK. Went to try again. I did it as soon as the blue screen with hp on it came on. Now I can't find anything about a soundcard in there. I think I've looked everywhere in the BIOS screens but may have missed something.
     
  9. beckri

    beckri Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    199
  10. beckri

    beckri Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    199
    Just upping one last time...
     
  11. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Does the new card appear in device manager? Can we see your IRQ listing.

    Start button, run, then type msinfo32 and hit ok...go to hardware, IRQs, edit, select all, edit, copy and come back and paste.
     
  12. beckri

    beckri Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    199
    0 System timer
    1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
    2 Programmable interrupt controller
    3 Conexant PCI Modem Enumerator
    3 Intel(R) 82810 Graphics Controller
    3 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
    4 Communications Port (COM1)
    5 Crystal Audio Codec Game Device
    6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller
    7 Printer Port (LPT1)
    8 System CMOS/real time clock
    9 Philips PSC705 Audio
    9 Crystal Audio Codec
    9 Intel(r) 82801AB SMBus Controller
    9 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
    9 SCI IRQ used by ACPI bus
    10 MPU-401 Compatible
    11 Intel(r) 82801AB USB Universal Host Controller
    11 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
    12 CordlessOptical3 (PS/2)
    13 Numeric data processor
    14 Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)
    14 Intel(r) 82801AB Ultra ATA Controller
    15 Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo)
    15 Intel(r) 82801AB Ultra ATA Controller
     
  13. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Go into the device manager and place a check mark to disable in this hardware profile for these two items....then restart.

    5 Crystal Audio Codec Game Device
    9 Crystal Audio Codec
     
  14. beckri

    beckri Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    199
    Ok, I did it and restarted. Still no sound though.
     
  15. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Do you have a volume control icon in the lower right hand corner? Can you go back to device manager and confirm that there is a red x on those items I had you disable?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/114779

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice