1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

SP2 sends me into a loop of shutting down and restarting

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by billbowers, Jan 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. billbowers

    billbowers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    SP2 sends me into a loop of shutting down and restarting. I installed in Aug 2004, and two weeks ago. Both times I had to do a system restore to break the loop.

    MSFT tech said to wait until the new Windows XP comes out in March/April, because SP2 will be part of Windows XP.

    Any comments or advice is appreciated.
     
  2. ekim68

    ekim68

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    53,922
    First Name:
    Mike
    SP2 has a lot of "things" that come with it. If your OS hasn't been activated, in MS's opinion anyway, it will do what you said.
    Your XP cd has a restore feature on it. Have you tried it?
    As usual Microsoft tells you to wait until they have a better, $$$, version coming out
    soon...
     
  3. billbowers

    billbowers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    The restore disk would effectively erase my files. It restores it to the day I bought it.

    Well, MSFT didn't have much choice but to recommend I wait for the next version of XP, due in a couple of months.
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Actually, I don't believe that is correct. I installed XP and wanted to wait until I was sure I didn't need to move it to another system prior to activating it. I had not yet activated it, and installed SP2. Installing SP2 gave me an additional X amount of days to activate it.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/323850

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice