1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Spanning tree protocol problem RSTP(wireshark Dump)

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Profess0rX, Jul 27, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Profess0rX

Profess0rX Thread Starter

Hello guys, this is my first post on this forum,
    Ive been working for 3 months in a nice company as a system admin.
    This is a wired connection problem.
    I am fresh out of school and a little bit inexperienced with real networking equipment. I mostly learned with packet tracer and GNS3.

Ive installed a netgear m4100-POE-26G for the production department, this switch is working in EtherChannel(LACP) with a DELL PowerWare 5524 24 Port.

The lacp is working really well, the trunk also.

We run RSTP for spanning tree protocol, when troubleshooting slow network access and Ip phones losing assignation, Ive realised that there is an RSTP election going on. Its now been three weeks that I am working on this problem. I know that the Hello packets(keep alive) are timed a 2 seconds on every switch. The core switch has the priority 0 so the root should not change.

After Sniffing packet for 10 minutes I have found some FCS errors on all of my RSTP packets.

If I unplug and replug the Dell switch the problem is gone for a day or two.

The Dell switch has a Fiber trunk going towards the root bridge. This is the link that would be flopping up and down in the same second, with a STP-Forwarding state message.

Here I have some of the Rstp packet collected, if you can help me troubleshoot this, I would be very grateful.:flowers:

No. Time Source Destination Protocol Length Info
    1 0.000000 Dell_b2:38:07 Spanning-tree-(for-bridges)_00 STP 64 RST. TC + Root = 0/0/a0:63:91:9e:60:54 Cost = 2000 Port = 0x8010 [ETHERNET FRAME CHECK SEQUENCE INCORRECT]