speakers for pc

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

redpanda911

Thread Starter
Joined
May 12, 2012
Messages
9
my speakers have power(on),but I have no sound,at all.The speakers in question are Altek twin speakers,with one single connection to pc The original cost of these speakers were only about £50, inside is a circuit board attached to wires.I would like to know if they are worth repairing(,to find the fault,or discarded.) A new pair of HP twin speakers is about the same price(.from John lewis store.) if you can help ,that would be great.
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
67,165
Have you confirmed that the problem is with the speakers and not that the computer's audio output may be turned down or muted? A quick check would be to test them with another known good source, like an MP3 player.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2008
Messages
249
Yup, good advice. Check whether you get sound out of any other speakers/headphones, then you'll know for sure if it's a computer problem or a speaker problem.
 

redpanda911

Thread Starter
Joined
May 12, 2012
Messages
9
tried mp3 source,no good .tried radio,nothing at all,(one lead from radio to speakers),as used on pc, if I plug the lead into radio to speaker,sound is muted from radio i have a"aux"and "imput" I suspect its a faulty micro chip inside speaker housing !
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
67,165
Yes, it does sound like you my have some kind of electronics failure inside the speaker housings. As to what type of component failed, you would need some test equipment and hopefully some kind of schematic diagram and/or data sheets for the integrated circuits.
 

redpanda911

Thread Starter
Joined
May 12, 2012
Messages
9
looks like a expensive job to fix,as the speakers only cost me £50, thanks for the reply.I think the best thing is to cut my losses,and just buy another pair (under warranty)(y)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top