speakers

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

hot2trotjenn

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 20, 2003
Messages
29
Can someone please tell me how to work my speakers??They will only work when I play a cd but anything else I cant get them 2 work at all.Is there something I have to program or something??:confused:
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
5,531
Can you provide some specs on your setup -

Motherboard / CPU / Ram / Soundcard (dedicate s/card or onboard on motherboard.) / Win OS.

Check in My Computer > Control Panel > System > Device Manager - are there any yellow or red ? or ! marks under Audio ....
 

hot2trotjenn

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 20, 2003
Messages
29
I know I really sound stupid but what do you mean by can you provide some specs on your setup ?And when I went to all that you told me to I didnt see audio?!
Sorry if Im making this alot harder then it probably really is.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
1,281
Have you got a little speaker icon on your taskbar (bottom right) ?
If so right click it and select Open Volume Control.
If the volume sliders for Midi and Wave are set to zero then slide them up a bit and see if that helps.

If you have no speaker icon there, let me know.

EvileYe.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Go to the control panel, multimedia, do you have a choice to show volume control on task bar?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
You don't see the choice? It's grayed out? There's no little check mark box at the bottom? What do you see?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
What shows for preferred devices.....can it be changed via the drop down selection?
 

hot2trotjenn

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 20, 2003
Messages
29
It says no playback devices and it wont let me do anything so I think.Its all grey pretty much.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
See if you have the cab files on the hard drive, usually they are under C:\windows\options\cabs.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top