1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Specs for My PC

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by SkyHawks, Jun 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SkyHawks

    SkyHawks Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Specs:
    Motherboard: Aopen MX46-800N
    Bios: R1.01b

    Processor:
    CPU Vendor: Intel
    Type: Pentium 4
    Frequency: 3000Mhz = 200Mhz * 15.0
    Core Voltage: 1.47V

    Ram = 480MB

    These are my Specs, Would I be able to Run Vista.. Even though Video Driver Not Supported?
    Everything Passes according to Pitstop. My XP My Jetwater-co
     
  2. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
  3. SkyHawks

    SkyHawks Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Thanks for having me.

    Ok, I did run the Advisor earlier, It said I can run it even thought the PC is 3yrs old.
    Anyways, All works besides the Blue Screen of Death issue, So needs a life.
    I have installed Vista 3x already, Because of this Blue Screen...!
     
  4. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    I would not try to run Vista with 480MB RAM. And since many functions in Vista are all about "eye candy", you will be disappoined if they don't work.
     
  5. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    Well if the upgrade adviser says you can run it then I guess you can't. You say you are getting a BSOD what are the contents of this error message? Please post all of the BSOD error please

    Frank is right you really should upgrade to 1 Gb RAM.
     
  6. SkyHawks

    SkyHawks Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Ok, Would there be a possibility that I could get more ram?
    3yrs Old, Would it be possilbe?

    It is an Aopen Desktop.
     
  7. SkyHawks

    SkyHawks Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    It occured during the bootup, It would load to the Animated Bar and then it would show the BSOD and then restart again. I could not read it as it was instant. I could not fix it, so I reformatted and re-did the installation.

    Besides that for a few secs at startup it says "INPUT NOT SUPPORTED". And then goes back to normal.
     
  8. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    If you still have the manual check that for the max RAM and if you do not have th emanual check the on-line version thru the manufacturer web site.

    Also you mentioned something about the video card that is not supposed to work with the Vista drivers I would go purchase another video card with at least 128 Mb RAM.
     
  9. SkyHawks

    SkyHawks Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Am I able to go purchase a Video Card being a 3yr Old PC?
    I have a Aopen MX46-800N Model.

    I did an online Check and it passed the 512MB Ram, just not the 1GB.
    Everything else passed..
     
  10. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Aopen website says 2GB RAM maximum, and it has an AGP 8X slot.
     
  11. SkyHawks

    SkyHawks Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    I am not sure what that means frank. Im not a PC Expert, lol. Going by what my PC is telling me. Sorry. So it means for my machine I can put 2GB Ram?
     
  12. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    One GB RAM will cost about $100.00 or so and a decent video card will be in the same area, so figure somewhere around $200.00 plus tax. That is about 1/3 to 1/2 of the cost of a new computer that will handle Vista. My suggestion is to take a look around the web for a new cpu .

    You can start at http://www.newegg.com

    Just a suggestion.
     
  13. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Yes, up to 2GB (1GB would be adequate). As for video, if you buy a graphics card you would need one that works in an AGP slot, either 8X or 4X. Newer PCI-e won't fit.
     
  14. SkyHawks

    SkyHawks Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Well give me a few I will search around for the adequate drivers and stuff.\
    I will repost soon!
    Thanks dudes
     
  15. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/584758

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice