1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Speed up Internet explorer:

Discussion in 'Tech Tips and Reviews' started by tronic592001, Apr 9, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tronic592001

    tronic592001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    This registry modification really stabilizes ME for some reason.

    It isolates it from a lot of integrated failures and hang ups:

    Open REGEDIT.EXE and look for the User Key:

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer]

    Right-click the right-hand window and create a new Dword value:

    Type in the value name: DesktopProcess , and left-click on the window

    Now click ON the new registry icon to set the value to 1 , and click OK.

    Close the Registry Editor.

    OK! So now open your Internet Explorer. Zap!

    Value: (1 = Separate Process, 0 = Default)

    (y)
    Number of processors: 1
    Processor Type: Pentium
    Processor Level: Intel Pentium Pro, II, III or 4
    Processor Model: 8
    Processor Revision: 2049
    Processor Stepping: 1
    CPU Identifier: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2200+
    CPU Name:
    CPU Vendor Identifier: AuthenticAMD

    Keyboard: IBM enhanced (101- or 102-key) keyboard
    Keyboard Manufacturer SubType: 0
    Keyboard Function Keys: 12
    -----------------------------
     
  2. brushmaster1

    brushmaster1

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    3,337
    I tried it (Win 98SE), and I can see no difference.
     
  3. tronic592001

    tronic592001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Well its faster for Windows ME,

    But as ive been useing it for one day now, cant say if there are any bugs by doing this..

    well let you now as i continue to use it:

    :confused:
     
  4. GhettoBuddhist

    GhettoBuddhist

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    727
    how do i enable reg edit


    Registry editing has been disabled by administrator.
     
  5. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    FYI You should have posted this int eh appropriate Forum, not in the Tips one....
    But since you are here, go to this site
    Scroll to the bottom of the page
    Download the file Fix-Exec.inf
    Then, on your PC, select the file, right mouse, install
     
  6. Stoner

    Stoner Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    44,931
    Hi guys :)
    I've been using this registry tweak for several years on win98se.
    I've forgotten the original source, but it was posted to separate processes from Internet Explorer so if a process locks up, it is less likely to lock up the computer and can more often be backed out of by a taskmanager or the three finger salute :D
    I noticed fewer lock ups and way fewer blue screens, but no change in the 'speed' of IE for me as far as I could tell.
    That's a good tip tronic :)

    Jack Stone
     
  7. GhettoBuddhist

    GhettoBuddhist

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    727
    *thumbs up*
     
  8. chalky

    chalky

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,864
    I tried this on win 98se...just to see...can't resist tips...anyway with this entry... on reboot or restart I was getting the C Drive window come up everytime....removed the entry and all is back to normal...it was this entry because I tried it twice...each time I put it back I had the C Drive window again..... :confused:
     
  9. brushmaster1

    brushmaster1

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    3,337
    The same thing happened here. Now, even after having removed the entry, My internet access has really slowed down. I have DSL, but I used to be able to browse faster with dial-up! :(
     
  10. Stoner

    Stoner Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    44,931

    Hi brushmaster

    I see you and chalky are having a problem.
    I searched and found my original source for the tweak:
    http://www.winguides.com/registry/display.php/950/

    I noticed several issues, but they did not pertain to my set up:

    I edited my registry manually, not with an app.
    Hope you get it straightened out brush.
    I've had this tweak on 3 different systems with 98se and the install on one system went just over 3 years(the last 2 years with the tweak) and it was a motherboard failure that ended that run.
    good luck and post what's happening
     
  11. chalky

    chalky

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,864
    Just downloaded the Tweak app...used it to apply the ' Desktop Process ' still the same ...the C Drive window appears on boot or restart :( ...thanks for the app though...there's a few things there I am going to use... :)

    Using 98se IE6
     
  12. Tecumseh

    Tecumseh

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    I've been using this program for three years and it works (I have a cable connection). It's called Throttle and comes with a free trial period so nothing to loose by giving it a test drive. (y)
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Speed Internet explorer
  1. ekim68
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    770
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/218643

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice