Speed?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Crusher09

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2005
Messages
42
Whats the best way to get more speed out of your computer without spending too much money?
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2005
Messages
6,336
Delete unused files/folders. Streamline everything, and regular housekeeping on your PC.
Also, another RAM stick wouldn't hurt... (y)
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
Crusher09 said:
Whats the best way to get more speed out of your computer without spending too much money?
need more info, regular maintenance helps as was said, clear temp int files, clear history, scan disk defrag, etc. To get a real speed boost usual requires spending some cash, new mobo/cpu/ram, if gamer, new video card, etc. People claim more memory can help, never really had any luck with that, but it can help you if your multi-tasking.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,765
Crusher:

How fast is the processor and how much RAM is installed? What is the brand name, model name, and model number of that computer? That'll assist us in determining how much RAM it supports? Adding more RAM is one of the most cost-effective performance boosts that you can give a computer. RAM modules are pretty cheap(unless you're using the real old type RAM modules), so adding more RAM won't break your budget.

----------------------------------------------------------------

Click Start - Run, type in MSCONFIG, then click OK - Startup(tab). Everything listed there with a checkmark next to it is running in the background. Many programs run in the background that aren't needed. This contributes to performance loss and other problems. Other than

ScanRegistry

SystemTray

StateMgr (Window ME users only)

Antivirus program entries

Firewall program entries

very few others need to run in the background. This site can assist you in determining which programs to run in the background. Type in each entry in the white box, then click "Search". If the entry is in the database, it'll give you all the information about it.

----------------------------------------------------------------

A large buildup of temporary files can cause a performance loss and other problems, so you can to keep them cleaned out on a regular basis. Click Start - Find/Search - Files And Folders, select the hard drive ( C: ) to look in, then type in and delete everything that appears under

*.TMP

C:\TEMP\*.*

C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\*.*

Ignore any message that appears about a program not working if you delete them. It's all junk, so get rid of it.

----------------------------------------------------------------

Reducing the graph load on your computer can add to performance gain. Get rid of the screensaver and wallpaper. Set the color palette to 16-bit high color instead of 32-bit true color. All this can be done in Display in the Control Panel.

----------------------------------------------------------------

The list can go on and on, but the above will get you started. (y)

----------------------------------------------------------------
 

Crusher09

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2005
Messages
42
I no i have 250mb ram, NVIDIA GeForce FX 5700LE, Windows XP Home, AMD Sempron
2600+
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
Crusher09 said:
I no i have 250mb ram, NVIDIA GeForce FX 5700LE, Windows XP Home, AMD Sempron
2600+
you need more ram 512mb would do PC2700 or PC3200. your card is ok for everyday use, for modern 3D gaming you could use a more powerful card ie ATI 9800pro or 6600GT.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,765
Crusher:

You computer likely has 256 MB of RAM, but is possibly using a small amount of it for on-board graphics. You definitely should add another 256 MB.

----------------------------------------------------------------

Unless you really have a need for more graphics power, on-board graphics do the job for most computer users.

Disabling on-board graphics and installing a new video card can be tricky.

----------------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top