1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Spontanious reboot help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Rasalon, Jan 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Rasalon

    Rasalon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Hello, I am new here and thougt I could give this place a try for help as none of my friends know what is wrong. I saw a post on a similar issue, but since my hardwrae was different than the posters, I wasn't sure what was sugested would help. Maybe someone here can help me please.
    I had just built a brand new pc from srcatch. Finished like less than 2 weeks ago. Here are the specs:
    Case: Powmax case 3803G - SHL with a 350 watt powmax P4 power suply.
    Motherboard: Aopen AX4T2 v1.00 with latest bios available for download.
    PCU: P4 2.0a GHZ with 512k cache
    Video Card: Jaton 3dforce ( Nvidia Geforce) 4 TI 4200 w/ 128 meg DDR Ram.
    I am currently using onboard acl 97 codec sound but I have a hercules muse 5.1 dvd brand new ready to install once I get my pc issues fixed.
    3com Nic card ( the only non new component, but I know it works).
    No Modem
    Samsung 80 Gig 7200 RPM IDE
    Samsung Floppy drive
    Artec 16X DVD-ROM 48x read cd-rom drive
    Hi - Val 48x16x48 CDR/W Drive
    256 megs (2 128 meg) Samsung RDRAM (Non ECC). Motherboard has 4 ram slots, 2 are the ram chips and 2 have dummies in them.
    I have the default fan running on the cpu. The fan that typicaly comes with a P4 CPU that you install over the heat sinc.
    My case has no place in the front or sdie for a fan so I have 2 fans running off the motherboard in the back of the pc. One is an intake by the cpu and the other is an exhaust fan on the top, right under the power suply.
    All fans inclduing the 2 case fans, the cpu fan and the one on my video card seem to be turning and pumping out air fine as far as I can tell. I have the side of my case off and my apartemnet doesn't get very warm at all. usualy My cpu runs at between 24-32* C or betwen 77-81* F and my system temprature is at most about only 10* hotter. This is according to the temprature monitor in the motherboard's bios and the smsc hardwrae monitor utility that came with my motherboard. Also voltage is reading fine as far as I can tell according to the smsc monitor and the monitor in my bios.
    What is happening is that my pc sponatniously reboots. sometimes just doing things like seinding e-mail using my calypso e-mail program.
    I am dual booting my pc with Windows Xp pro SP1 and Mandrake Linux 9.0 using the Mandrake Linux boot loader.
    It is weird becaue it could happen before windows lets say fully laods or an hour after windows loads as I am just sending an e-mail or just loading Inetrnet Explorer. Linux does it as well when logging into X-Win. so I do not think it is a video or windows driver problem persay, but what is weird though is that it seams to boot into windows XP safe mode w/networking support fine (But I have not fully tested that out yet to say for sure).
    At 1st I thought it was a driver problem even though Linux was doing this as well. Reinstalling video drivers did not help. Then I thought it was a power issue, so I yanked out my 350 watt P4 powmax power supply, and replaced it with a CompUSA 500 watt P4 power supply. No change.
    I can get into my bios fine and there are no windows event errors when loading windows according to the Windows XP Event viewer.
    The only thing I noticed is that the default setting fan speeds for my smsc windows Hardwrae monitor are set and it is saying that the fan speed is lower than default setings for the cpu and one of the case fans (the intake). meaning that the fans are not spinning as fast as what the default settings for normal fan speeds are set to, yet tempratures still read at normal readings.
    I don't have any friends with a 4x agp card that I could borrow to test and see if my agp card is bad even though I do see graphics on my screen. :( My Motherboard can't take anything less than a 4x agp card. I was going to buy one but I do not have alot of money and buying a new card (especialy if it is not an issue with my video card) would be a financial strain on me. It could be my motherboard, so if the recomendation is trying a different brand of motherboard with similar specs so I don't hve t buy new hardware (I am open to sugestions), or getting a new motherboard but the exact same thing as something faulty power wise is happening with my motherbaord all of the sdden. If I got a lemon motherboard I am ok with that. If it is heat issues even though everything seams cool to the touch usualy and temprature readings (even though could be completely wrong) are reading at normal levels, I can buy a desktop fan and blow it in there and see if that helps, but untill I spend the $$$, I want to see if anybody has any sugestions at all. I amy call tye motherbaodr manufacture AOpen this week and see what they sugest as well.
    I know what I have written is long, but Thanks in advance for reading and I apreciate anybodies help. If I can stop these spontanious reboots, I would have a realy nice pc on my hands, and it has cost me cheaper to build than buying a prebuilt one from anywhere with the specs listed above.
    Thanks again. :)
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    It's an inbuilt default XP behaviour


    When you are running Windows XP, you may have noticed that every so often (rarely) that Windows reboots without you asking it to. This tends to be caused by a Blue Screen error. If you want to see what this error is, you will have to check the error log list because Windows reboots too quickly for you to read what happened. Well with this tip you can disable the Auto-Reboot so you can finally read, and see the blue screen error.

    Go to Start -> Control Panel -> System
    Go to Advanced
    Under the Startup and Recovery section, click Settings...
    Under System Failure un-check "Automatically restart"


    Derek
     
  3. Rasalon

    Rasalon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    I have allready done that. It is not that at all because I do not get any blue screen or errors at all, It hapens alot not just rarely. It could happen ocne every 5 minutes. No warning no blue screen and no errors in the event log. If it was a winodws issue, then that would help me solve this thing and then I could say it was softwrae or driver related, but I am dual booting into Mandrake Linux 9.0 using the Mandrake Linux boot loader with no auto reboot feature enabled with default mandrake drivers, and it is spontaniously rebooting as well. Even just logging into X-Win, does this. Every time I reboot, Linux and windows both run their version of Checkdisk respectively. I am waiting to hear back from Aopen (My motherboard manufacture) to see what they say. I will not use the pc that is constantly rebooting without warning untill I solve this thing or get some solid things to try. I am afraid of damaging components further, especialy the cilinders on my brand new Samsung HD. Any more ideas I could try? Help would be apreciated. :confused:
     
  4. roosterman

    roosterman

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    143
    I had a similar problem like yours (except I wasn't running a dual boot). I just had a new machine built for me with Windows XP installed. Constantly...I repeat, Constantly...the computer would reboot for no apparent reason. I switched out every piece of hardware with another piece of hardware.....with no luck. I even re-formatted and did a fresh re-installed Windows XP (not a repair). Still there was constant rebooting.

    Turns out (for me anyways) the problem was Windows XP. I reformatted again and then installed Windows 2000 Professional. Since then mjy computer has been extremely stable. It may lock up only once every couple of weeks.

    Even though Linux still crashes, the problem may be within Windows because it is on the machine.

    Just my two cents....
    :)
     
  5. Rasalon

    Rasalon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    I wonder what version of XP you were running? You were not getting a blue screen at all or a bug check? Nothing in your event viewer Roosterman? other than being a HD that Linux can ask that still does not erxplain my dual boot into Unix. I will do more investigating into this lead, but I still suspect it is hardware and I just have to save up $$$ to fix. Roosterman, if you reply to this, were you getting any bug checks, blue screens or logs in the event viewer? Could you get into safe mode ok? I am not getting any blue screens, bug checks or anything like that. Nothing noted in my event viewer. Just curious. Thanks.
     
  6. roosterman

    roosterman

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    143
    Rasalon:

    i was running XP Home.

    i would get a blue screen every now and then....probably one out of every 20 reboots or lockups.

    the same thing would happen even in safe mode.

    after i re-formatted and re-installed WinXP the computer rebooted up within 5 minutes. i had not installed or changed ANYTHING. I was just navigating thru windows, waiting to see how long it would take before it would reboot or lockup...and it only took 5 minutes.

    roosterman
     
  7. Rasalon

    Rasalon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Roosterman, Thanks for your help. I thought it was the XP pro SP1 I have installed but I don't think that is the case. If it was just XP then why would my dual booting into Linux Mandrake 9.0 be doing so as well?, and why is it not happening in Windows Xp Safe Mode as far as I can tell, All Linux has to do with Windows other than being in the same hard drive and being able to use the Linux boot loader to boot into Windows, is that all the windows drives in fat32 mode are mounted so that I can access through linux programs Data files like text files and mp3 files and movies etc. No windowes programs and drivers are being used or loaded in Linux at all. It happnes randomly and not on a regular pattern. I mean in windows or Linux it could happen instantaniously as my desktop in windows or xwin loads or it could be an hour or so later just by opening Internet Explorer lets say just to a blank page. Just from doing something like sending an e-mail in a simple e-mail program (I use Calypso 3.0) or just opening up Inernet Explorer in a blank page. There is no blue screen and no event log recorded in the Windows event viewer that I see as far as errors go, except that since the reboot was sudden, that a chkdisk was recorded, but those never find a thing wrong. That is why I think it is hardwrae but because everything seams to work, this is so hard to diagnose. I wish I had and knew how to use a voltage meeter :( I don't want to spend the $$$ for one just to find out that I have to replace something expensive anyways like the motherboard, just to find that out and never need that PC seams to go through the boot process ok before OS loads and I just bought a brand new P4 Comp Usa 500 Watt power supply. I wish I knew poeple in town who had parts I could trade with or borow to test things out so I wouldn't have to buy any parts just for trial and errors and spend lots of $$$ rebuying parts. Any other ideas? anybody? I am desperate for help please. Thanks again.
     
  8. roosterman

    roosterman

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    143
    I would definetly try the power supply first then. you have a lot of stuff for a 350w ps. not enough power can cause reboots and lockups.

    after you get a chance to switch it out, let me know how it goes.

    roosterman
     
  9. Rasalon

    Rasalon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Roosterman, As I mentioned in the original post, I thought my 350 watt power suply wasn't powerfull enough so i switched for a 500 watt power suply p4 comp usa brand, brand new. Still having the same issue. So if it is a power issue, it is not the power supply, it is like a power short in the mother board or video card or some other component. All I know that my pc didn't spontaniously reboot as much untill I tried to install this new sound card I bought (Herculees gamesuround Muse 5.1 DVD) which I then uninstalled to use the onboard sound again. It is not the sound card that is a problem as fra as I can tell, but whatever the problem is, installing that sound card was the straw that broke the camels back on my pc. So I don't know what to do now. I could buy a cheap 4x agp card and test things out, but I realy do not wnat to spend the $$$ unless I have to. Any more ideas? Any help would be aprecieated.
     
  10. roosterman

    roosterman

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    143
    do you have two sticks of ram?

    if you do, i would try taking one out and leaving the other in.
    if still the same problem, put the second one back in and take the first one out and see what happens.

    you may have one bad stick of memory.

    roosterman
     
  11. Rasalon

    Rasalon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Roosterman, i am using RDRAM which has to be used in pairs and is very expensive. If i take one ram pout my pc will not work. I would have to replace it with another ram chip whihc I do not have that i know works to test it out. So I can take one out just to test one of them but i would then need to rplace that empty ram slot with another Rdram stick of somthing similar brand and size. I hear RDRAM can be prety particular. If I could afford another RDRAM stick of the same kind to try or if I knew someone who had an RDRAM stick of the same kind to try that worked whom would let me borow it, I would. If it was as easy as taking out one ram stick and booting up my pc, I would have tried that allready, but it isn't. i didn download some memory testing program that boots up via a floppy using some version of Dos and tests memory patterns and all memory patterns test good. Doesn't mean the memeory is, just that it past random binary pattern tests in cycles, burn and read tests and the like. Any ideas?
     
  12. swwelsh

    swwelsh

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 1999
    Messages:
    389
    I havent ever used an RDRAM system, but I've got to agree with roosterman on this, I think faultyl RAM is a likely suspect, and you have eliminated most of the other things that can cause reboots - power supply, heat, drivers. I woudnt put too much faith in those memory testers, the only way to really check is to replace the memory. See if the place you bought the memory will let you switch it out, it should still be under warranty.
     
  13. roosterman

    roosterman

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    143
    sorry, i missed the sentence where you said you had RDRAM.

    try taking the memory back to where you got it and maybe they'll have something you can switch it with, like swwelsh said.

    have you e-mail aopen to see if that particular motherboard has any problems with samsung memory?

    just a thought.

    roosterman
     
  14. Westwood

    Westwood

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    i had this same prob.. but by reseating my ram wit hthe largest chip in the first slot.. it all worked fine and i havnt had any problems since.
     
  15. Rasalon

    Rasalon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    In my case, In my p4 2.0a gig, I have switched the rdram around as sugested. In my case now, the dummy ram is in the outside slots and the real ram chips are in the inside slots. Originaly it was the reverse. No effect or change. I may just end up having to save up and spend money and buy a new video card and/or motherboard to test things out. I am still waiting to hear from Aopen who made my motherboard. They are aparently way behind on their support tickets. If I hear something from them, I will post it here. It is weird because these occurences do not happen untill an OS almost completely loads or afterwards. I guess the bootup process and bios do not take up alot of power or alot of use in the graohic card. If there was a way to test the graphic card or motherboard without replacing anything. Any other ideas? I'll keep bugging Aopen in the mean time.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/112995

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice