1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Spontanous Reboot

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by walt747, Sep 23, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. walt747

    walt747 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Often, during dialup with my existing Zoom 56k modem to my earthlink ISP I get the message window that I am logging on to the network then suddenly my computer reboots.
    I have ASUS MB, win 98se, IE6, 384meg mem.,800 celeron and my primary HD is a new WD40gig with lots of space left.
    I recently (before the problem started) had to reinstall my system, with the 40 gig, because of a MAJOR crash.
    I was able to put my original primary drive in as a secondary drive. Maybe the problem is associated with that Quantum 30gig drive because it had the original installation on it. I don't know if it is related or what to do about it if that is the situation.
    All help much appreciated and I am grateful to this site.
    Walt747
     
  2. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    Sounds like a resource conflict. See if you can use the device manager (in the system applet in control panel) to change the resources the device uses. If it'll let you.
     
  3. walt747

    walt747 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks for your reply
    I used Device Mgr to check for conflicts and none were reported. Altho I do have the dreaded yellow "!" on my secondary drive in Device Mgr.
     
  4. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    That's probably it.
    I'd still try to change the resources the modem was useing, windows isn't too good at determining what devices are involved with the conflict. Your secondary drive controller is probably trying to use the same IRQ as your modem.
     
  5. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    If all else fails, uninstall the modem, then install it in a different PCI slot.
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Could you post your IRQ listing? Start button, run, then type msinfo32 and hit ok....go to hardware, IRQs, edit, select all, edit, copy and come back and paste.

    Did you ever do the flash upgrade on that modem? Or it a newer one?
     
  7. walt747

    walt747 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    I did a modem upgrade before my big crash but not since then

    It looks like you have hit the nail IRQ5 is shared with the controller

    0 System timer
    1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
    2 Programmable interrupt controller
    3 Communications Port (COM2)
    4 Communications Port (COM1)
    5 Zoom V90 56K PCI Faxmodem #2
    5 VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
    5 VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
    5 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
    6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller
    7 ECP Printer Port (LPT1)
    8 System CMOS/real time clock
    9 SCI IRQ used by ACPI bus
    10 Creative Sound Blaster PCI128
    10 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
    11 NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro
    11 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
    12 WheelMouse2 (PS/2)
    13 Numeric data processor
    14 Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)
    14 VIA Bus Master PCI IDE Controller
    15 Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo)
    15 VIA Bus Master PCI IDE Controller
     
  8. walt747

    walt747 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Sorry I left out this info in my IRQ reply

    I have had this modem for a couple years
     
  9. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Anything on com 1 or com 2? If not, go into the bios setup and disable them.
     
  10. walt747

    walt747 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    I don't know what com my mouse is on and don't know where to look
     
  11. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    How does your mouse plug in? To a round hole or a square hole?

    Nevermind, it's on 12, so it's on the PS/2 port, that shouldn't be an issue.......at least I think that is the case, been a while since I've played with a serial mouse......double check though ;)
     
  12. walt747

    walt747 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    ps2 round hole
     
  13. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Ok, then proceed as I've mentioned above....go into the bios setup and make the serial (com ports) DISABLED. Save changes, then reboot, and take another look at the IRQ listing.
     
  14. walt747

    walt747 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Ok I disabled com 1 & 2 and now the IRQ's have shifted from 5 to 4 but, the "!" is not showing in device mgr.
    3 (free)
    4 Zoom V90 56K PCI Faxmodem #2
    4 VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
    4 VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
    4 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
    5 (free)
    6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller
    7 ECP Printer Port (LPT1)
     
  15. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Well, looks like we cured a problem but not the disease :D

    Can you go to the device manager and see if either the host controllers or the modem will move back to 5?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/166856

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice