Spontanous Reboot

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

walt747

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Messages
14
Often, during dialup with my existing Zoom 56k modem to my earthlink ISP I get the message window that I am logging on to the network then suddenly my computer reboots.
I have ASUS MB, win 98se, IE6, 384meg mem.,800 celeron and my primary HD is a new WD40gig with lots of space left.
I recently (before the problem started) had to reinstall my system, with the 40 gig, because of a MAJOR crash.
I was able to put my original primary drive in as a secondary drive. Maybe the problem is associated with that Quantum 30gig drive because it had the original installation on it. I don't know if it is related or what to do about it if that is the situation.
All help much appreciated and I am grateful to this site.
Walt747
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
8,812
Sounds like a resource conflict. See if you can use the device manager (in the system applet in control panel) to change the resources the device uses. If it'll let you.
 

walt747

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Messages
14
Thanks for your reply
I used Device Mgr to check for conflicts and none were reported. Altho I do have the dreaded yellow "!" on my secondary drive in Device Mgr.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
8,812
That's probably it.
I'd still try to change the resources the modem was useing, windows isn't too good at determining what devices are involved with the conflict. Your secondary drive controller is probably trying to use the same IRQ as your modem.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Could you post your IRQ listing? Start button, run, then type msinfo32 and hit ok....go to hardware, IRQs, edit, select all, edit, copy and come back and paste.

Did you ever do the flash upgrade on that modem? Or it a newer one?
 

walt747

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Messages
14
I did a modem upgrade before my big crash but not since then

It looks like you have hit the nail IRQ5 is shared with the controller

0 System timer
1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
2 Programmable interrupt controller
3 Communications Port (COM2)
4 Communications Port (COM1)
5 Zoom V90 56K PCI Faxmodem #2
5 VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
5 VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
5 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller
7 ECP Printer Port (LPT1)
8 System CMOS/real time clock
9 SCI IRQ used by ACPI bus
10 Creative Sound Blaster PCI128
10 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
11 NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro
11 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
12 WheelMouse2 (PS/2)
13 Numeric data processor
14 Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)
14 VIA Bus Master PCI IDE Controller
15 Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo)
15 VIA Bus Master PCI IDE Controller
 

walt747

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Messages
14
Sorry I left out this info in my IRQ reply

I have had this modem for a couple years
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Anything on com 1 or com 2? If not, go into the bios setup and disable them.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
How does your mouse plug in? To a round hole or a square hole?

Nevermind, it's on 12, so it's on the PS/2 port, that shouldn't be an issue.......at least I think that is the case, been a while since I've played with a serial mouse......double check though ;)
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Ok, then proceed as I've mentioned above....go into the bios setup and make the serial (com ports) DISABLED. Save changes, then reboot, and take another look at the IRQ listing.
 

walt747

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Messages
14
Ok I disabled com 1 & 2 and now the IRQ's have shifted from 5 to 4 but, the "!" is not showing in device mgr.
3 (free)
4 Zoom V90 56K PCI Faxmodem #2
4 VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
4 VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
4 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
5 (free)
6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller
7 ECP Printer Port (LPT1)
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Well, looks like we cured a problem but not the disease :D

Can you go to the device manager and see if either the host controllers or the modem will move back to 5?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top