1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

spool32

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by sylvia,ann, Feb 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sylvia,ann

    sylvia,ann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    I dont believe this after all the work I have done on this computer today highjack this, ad-ware, spybot, spywareblaster,cwshredderand then highjack this again.
    every thing seemed ok till I switched on tonight then when the computer had opened all up I got the following message .
    Spool32 caused an invalid page fault in module spool32.exe
    PLEASE were do i go now
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,772
    First Name:
    Frank
    This Microsoft knowledge base article might help you.
     
  3. 1069

    1069

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,912
    Hi again SylviaAnn,

    I have been doing some digging and found this:

    Spool32 errors in Spool32.exe

    "Generally, it's a safe bet that if a module is faulting itself, you've got a corrupted file. If you're lucky, running a Scandisk and optional Defragmentation of your hard drive will fix it. If not, you'll need to extract Spool32.exe from the Windows 98 installation files, and overwrite your old one with the one you extract. "

    To run Scandisk goto Start - Programs - Accessories - System tools - Scandisk. Check the box "Automatically fix Errors".

    Try the system again. If still getting the fault do a defrag.

    Defrag is best run in Safe Mode. Shut down - as the system starts booting up constantly tap F8 until you get the options screen where you can select Safe Mode.

    Once in Safe Mode (your screen will look odd ) goto Start - Programs - Accessories - System Tools and select Defrag. depending on the size of your hard drive this could take a very long time but it is worth doing. Hopefully this will sort it.
     
  4. sylvia,ann

    sylvia,ann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    well i have tried every thing and still getting the message spool32 caused a invalid page fault in module spool32.exe when i try to print it wont allow it so lost what to try next except throw this computer through the window
     
  5. JTM

    JTM

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    45
    Did you try getting a copy of Spool32.exe off the windows disk? If your going to do this, I'd suggest backing up your current file aswell...even though it's of no use.
     
  6. 1069

    1069

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,912
    SylviaAnn,

    I assume you have run scandisk and defrag?


    do you have a copy of the original Win98SE CD? If you do you can replace the damaged file from your cd.

    SPOOL32.exe is located in C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM ( see no.4 )

    Click Start, and then click Run.

    2. Type sfc, and then press ENTER.

    3. Click Extract one file from installation disk.

    4. In the Specify the system file you would like to restore box, type drive:\windows\path\file (where drive is the drive where the Windows folder is installed, generally drive C, path is the destination of the file that you are extracting, and file is the file that you want to extract).

    5. Click Start, click Browse next to the Restore from box, and then locate the Windows installation files. By default, in the OEM version of Windows 98 and Windows 98 Second Edition the installation files are on the hard disk in the C:\Cabs folder. With a retail full version or upgrade version, you can also insert the Windows installation CD-ROM into the CD-ROM drive or DVD-ROM drive, and then locate the Windows installation files. The folder is named "Win9x". For example, if your CD-ROM or DVD-ROM drive is D:, the folder is named "D:\Win9x". For Windows 98, the folder is named D:\Win98.

    6. Click OK, and then follow the instructions on the screen.


    This, hopefully, should sort it.
     
  7. sylvia,ann

    sylvia,ann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    Hi 1069
    yes I have run scan disc and defag but it didnt help

    My window98 disc is a full restore disc of all the programes on this computer so dont think I can do as you said sorry,
    Really am fed up with this computer now if it is not one thing it is something else
    so at a total loss what to do next as I am put some programes on and done my address book so dont want to have to reinstall and loose at that
     
  8. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Go to Start->Run, type Win.ini and click Ok. Scroll down to the line Load= under [Windows]. Modify this line to read as follows:

    Load=C:\Windows\System\Spool32.exe

    Once done save the changes and restart the computer. That will load Spool32.exe prior to any Stay Resident Programs and may help avoid this type of errors.
     
  9. sylvia,ann

    sylvia,ann Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    Hi JSntgRvr

    Well I looked at What you said but after going to start run type in win.ini scrool down i dont have a line load = under windows i am running win 98
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,772
    First Name:
    Frank
    Click Start - Run, type in SYSEDIT, then click OK. Bring the WIN.INI file to the front. At the very top of this file, you should see a [windows] heading. The load= command should be there.
     
  11. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    It should look like this

    [windows]
    Load=C:\Windows\System\Spool32.exe

    If the Load= line does not exists, add a line as above.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/327819

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice