SPOOLSV.EXE and Memory error

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

charlief

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 24, 2000
Messages
44
All of a sudden I can't print, or get to my printers settings - when I boot-up ( win2000) I get a box with the following : SPOOLSV.EXE Application error
The instruction at "0x100019ff" referenced memory at "0x00000056". The memory could not be "read".
Check OK to terminate, check CANCEL to Debug. Neither of which allow me to get to my Printer settings. Running on IBM PC 350. ( I have seen a few other instances of this type of memory "read" error sice using Win2000, never saw it under W98.
 

Brooks

Guest
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
2,323
Have you tried uninstalling the printer and then reinstalling it?

To manually uninstall the printers go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Printers and delete the key that has your printers name in it. Reboot and then see if you can reinstall the printer.

Have you installed bitware recently? There is a bug in Bitware that makes it incompatable with Win2k.

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;Q257859
 

charlief

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 24, 2000
Messages
44
I went into the Registry as you suggested and the printer was not listed. Also, no evidence of Bitware, anywhere. What's troubling is, while the error box is still active ( I hadn't replied OK or CANCEL) I went in to SETTINGS-PRINTERS and it showed my printer as STATUSof DELETING , I can't get rid og it !!. Then I went and tried a new INSTALL, got totheFINISH, but it said PRINT PROCESSSOR DOES NOT EXIST. Does this help ? Doesn't sound good. Can I somehow just go and reinstall SPOOLSV ??
 

Brooks

Guest
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
2,323
Try installing Service Pack 2 for Windows 2000. I know that it was supposed to fix a lot of printing problems.

Also, check the event log and see if there is an event ID for the printing problem.
 

charlief

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 24, 2000
Messages
44
Where do I get the Service Pack 2, MS support page, I suppose/hope ?
And Event Log ? I'm not familiar with that. I'll try those tips tomorrow and let you know the results,
Thanks,
 

Brooks

Guest
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
2,323
Tolook at the event viewer, right click my computer and select manage. When it opens up there will be an option for event viewer. There are three catagories there and the two that could have that info are application and system.

You can get the service pack from windows update. It is a very large update, so I hope you have a high speed line. If not, you might could find somebody that has a high speed connection that also has a cd burner and could get it for you. This thing is a little over 100 megs.

http://www.microsoft.com/windows2000/downloads/servicepacks/sp2/sp2lang.asp
 

charlief

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 24, 2000
Messages
44
I was finally somehow able to delete my oldprinter in device manager, I did the Windows Fixpack upgrade, then tried to re-nstall a new printer. Got all the way to the end, Finish, tried to print test page and it I'm missing a Print Processor . Can't figure out where to install it from. Also, from the event log see below -
WMI ADAP was unable to load the winspool.drv performance library due to an unknown problem within the library: 0x0
Could this be it ??
 

charlief

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 24, 2000
Messages
44
No need to send any more time on this one, somehow I got it to work, but unfortunately I can't tell you exactly how. I was in Computer management, then I added the printer to PT2, and tried to send some files to the printer, but the Printer statussaid PRINTING, but they weren't printing. So then I deleted the printer from LPT2 and added it it LPT1 port again and I couldn't belive it, I was able to print. If you could, could you still explain what the errors were from the Event Log in my preceding Post, and also, I thought I used to have two Printer Port types before all this started - EPP and ECP. How can I add EPP back ?
Once again, thanks for helping me out.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top